Recent

Author Topic: Free individual icons library, with licence similar to LGPL  (Read 2986 times)

devEric69

Free individual icons library, with licence similar to LGPL
« on: February 23, 2021, 09:51:51 am »
Hello,

Currently, I'm using the 16x16 pixels *.bmp icons from an old Delphi (those created since version 1) and my own, in a TImageList. It's quite limited, and rather rustic (not to say that it's an involuntary abstract art :D ). I'm not an art designer.

Anecdotally, I know that on the web, there is a plethora of image libraries for websites: they are often downloadable in a single large image which is compound of icons, that must then be referenced in the Php or Javascript source code, a bit like with a segment:displacement address inside its large image container in order to get the right rectangle to locate and render the right icon).

Are you aware, do you use individual icons libraries, 16*16 pixels size, downloadable from the internet, which are TImageList compliant and licensed under a license comparable to LGPL (Lesser General Public License)?
« Last Edit: February 23, 2021, 10:09:10 am by devEric69 »
use: Linux 64 bits (Ubuntu 20.04 LTS).
Lazarus version: 2.0.4 (svn revision: 62502M) compiled with fpc 3.0.4 - fpDebug \ Dwarf3.

440bx

Re: Free individual icons library, with licence similar to LGPL
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2021, 10:56:45 am »
Yes, there are some and, the terms and conditions vary.

In some cases, they are totally free, meaning use as you see fit, the author does not require money nor attribution credit.

Often, the author requires attribution credit (he/she is an author/contributor) but, nothing other than that.

As far as finding them, there are some sites on the web.  I just use google to find them.  You'll have to sift through some "junk" but, it's not bad (at least it wasn't the last time I did - a few years ago.)

HTH.
(FPC v3.0.4 and Lazarus 1.8.2) or (FPC v3.2.2 and Lazarus v3.2) on Windows 7 SP1 64bit.

bpranoto