Recent

Author Topic: New Idea: May we use some CSS like thing to do GUI?  (Read 2236 times)

dbannon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1374
    • tomboy-ng, a rewrite of the classic Tomboy
Re: New Idea: May we use some CSS like thing to do GUI?
« Reply #15 on: February 25, 2021, 07:11:35 am »
The very first thing is, you need to enable QT interface on your Lazarus and that is relatively not easy.
https://wiki.lazarus.freepascal.org/Qt_Interface

But, please don't be discouraged.  :)

Oh, Handoko, I suspect that wiki page deserves the "most of of date wiki page" award !  Firstly, it seems to be about Qt4 not Qt5 and it assumes you need to do a whole lot of manual installing. All recent Lazarus versions come with Qt5 ready to run. On linux, all you need to do is install libqt5pas-dev to get the actual Qt5 libraries and then set the widget set to Qt5, recompile.

Hmm, actually, its a small problem with older linux distros, I think from memory you (like me) use Ubuntu18.04 ?  The ubuntu repo libqt5pas is a bit too old, better to get the one from my github repo but, honestly, its about time we both updated to U20.04 anyway !

I am not saying the Qt5 style sheeting is easy, never tried it. But switching to qt5 widget set is delightfully easy.

Davo
Lazarus 2, Linux (and reluctantly Win10, OSX)
My Project - https://github.com/tomboy-notes/tomboy-ng

Handoko

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4247
  • My goal: build my own game engine using Lazarus
Re: New Idea: May we use some CSS like thing to do GUI?
« Reply #16 on: February 25, 2021, 07:57:27 am »
I remember I ever managed to make QT to works on my computer long ago and that's not easy. Yes, QT looks nice.

Glad to know it's been easier now.

MarkMLl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2565
Re: New Idea: May we use some CSS like thing to do GUI?
« Reply #17 on: February 25, 2021, 09:16:46 am »
I remember I ever managed to make QT to works on my computer long ago and that's not easy. Yes, QT looks nice.

Glad to know it's been easier now.

I've never had any problems, but tend to use KDE as the desktop.

Except that in the current/stable Debian release ("Buster") I had to go back to the previous release ("Stretch"?) to get the libqt4pas-dev package, and I've not really investigated the situation in the "Testing" ("Bullseye") release which I've just started running.

MarkMLl


MarkMLl
Turbo Pascal v1 on CCP/M-86, multitasking with LAN and graphics in 128Kb.
Pet hate: people who boast about the size and sophistication of their computer.
GitHub repositories: https://github.com/MarkMLl?tab=repositories

 

TinyPortal © 2005-2018