Recent

Author Topic: Batch layer export  (Read 858 times)

AP2020

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
Batch layer export
« on: January 17, 2021, 12:28:00 pm »
How do I import a set of PDN images (Paint.NET) and export these images first as separate layers to PNG naming them fileName_LayerName.png and then convert the PDNs to JPG?

MarkMLl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2073
Re: Batch layer export
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2021, 01:06:45 pm »
Is this related to the Lazarus IDE?

MarkMLl
Turbo Pascal v1 on CCP/M-86, multitasking with LAN and graphics in 128Kb.
Pet hate: people who boast about the size and sophistication of their computer.

speter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 161
Re: Batch layer export
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2021, 11:56:12 pm »
Is this related to the Lazarus IDE?

MarkMLl
Well.... the OP would probably use the IDE to write a program to read the images... :)

But, if the OP wants an answer, they should consider posting in the graphics sub-forum.

cheers
S.
I climbed mighty mountains, and saw that they were actually tiny foothills. :)

Laz 2.0.10 / FPC 3.2.0 / Windows 10 (64bit)

MarkMLl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2073
Re: Batch layer export
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2021, 09:47:41 am »
But, if the OP wants an answer, they should consider posting in the graphics sub-forum.

OP's a newly-registered first-time poster, and needs to be far more detailed if he's not going to be suspected of being a potential spammer.

MarkMLl
Turbo Pascal v1 on CCP/M-86, multitasking with LAN and graphics in 128Kb.
Pet hate: people who boast about the size and sophistication of their computer.

AP2020

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
Re: Batch layer export
« Reply #4 on: January 20, 2021, 06:37:42 pm »
Well, true, I'm new. I didn't know Lazarus until last week, because it was recommended to me on the Paint.NET forum because it can do batch operations.
What I need is precisely what I asked for in the first post: I need to do 2 things,
  • convert a series of images into layers (each layer in png);
  • convert a series of pdn into jpg.


I hope it is possible to do this, I thought it was more logical to ask here than on the Paint.NET forum.
If it's the wrong section, of course, a moderator can move it to the appropriate section.

MarkMLl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2073
Re: Batch layer export
« Reply #5 on: January 20, 2021, 07:21:20 pm »
Lazarus is not a graphics manipulation application, it's an Integrated Development Environment for the Pascal programming language (specifically, Object Pascal compatible with Delphi etc.).

Unless you're trying to move the images about as part of your programming activities, I suspect that you're not in the right place.

But welcome to the forum anyway :-)

MarkMLl
Turbo Pascal v1 on CCP/M-86, multitasking with LAN and graphics in 128Kb.
Pet hate: people who boast about the size and sophistication of their computer.

bytebites

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 382
Re: Batch layer export
« Reply #6 on: January 20, 2021, 07:48:58 pm »
Lazpaint obviously can convert pdn-files to jpgs.

MarkMLl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2073
Re: Batch layer export
« Reply #7 on: January 20, 2021, 09:53:17 pm »
Lazpaint obviously can convert pdn-files to jpgs.

Can it do the batch operations he's asking for (if so I obvious apologise for being sceptical)?

MarkMLl
Turbo Pascal v1 on CCP/M-86, multitasking with LAN and graphics in 128Kb.
Pet hate: people who boast about the size and sophistication of their computer.

winni

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2196
Re: Batch layer export
« Reply #8 on: January 20, 2021, 11:05:23 pm »
Hi!

Paint.net and PDN-files is kindergarden software.
Use applications for adults.

The documentation of the GIMP tells that it can read PDN-Files since version 2.6.

The GIMP allways has the ability to show the sparate layers.

I never tested PDN-files.

Winni

MarkMLl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2073
Re: Batch layer export
« Reply #9 on: January 21, 2021, 10:10:57 am »
Use applications for adults.

He's trying to. Can you say whether Lazpaint- or anything related to the Lazarus project, which is, after all, the OP's question- can help?

Quite frankly I think that Gimp has taken a major hit on the usability side over the last few years. Irrespective of its overall capabilities, getting it to do what one wants can be deeply frustrating if it's not something one uses daily.

MarkMLl
Turbo Pascal v1 on CCP/M-86, multitasking with LAN and graphics in 128Kb.
Pet hate: people who boast about the size and sophistication of their computer.

speter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 161
Re: Batch layer export
« Reply #10 on: January 21, 2021, 11:33:27 pm »
Gimp is very annoying. But, Winni says it can read PDN files.

 + Load the PDN file in Gimp,;
 + use: File > Export As;
 + make sure "select file type" is "By Extension" (I think that is the default);
 + call the output something.ora (the file extension is the important bit);
 + outside Gimp, rename something.ora to something.zip;
 + unzip.
I climbed mighty mountains, and saw that they were actually tiny foothills. :)

Laz 2.0.10 / FPC 3.2.0 / Windows 10 (64bit)

 

TinyPortal © 2005-2018