Recent

Author Topic: Why Lazarus still com at default with GTK1?  (Read 6277 times)

nadavvin

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 28
Why Lazarus still com at default with GTK1?
« on: April 12, 2008, 03:23:11 pm »
GTK1 is not contain in any modern distro and Lazarus can compile with GTK2.

I also didn't found how to compile it with GTK 2 in the first time instead to compile it with GTK1 and then compile again with GTK2

Leledumbo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8139
  • Programming + Glam Metal + Tae Kwon Do = Me
RE: Why Lazarus still com at default with GTK1?
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2008, 07:09:49 am »
Can't you use: make all LCL_PLATFORM=gtk2 ?

Ñuño_Martínez

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 932
    • Burdjia
RE: Why Lazarus still com at default with GTK1?
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2008, 11:53:18 am »
I think nadavvin talks about all binary distros of Lazarus for Linux (Ubuntu, Debian, RedHat, etc.) are compiled with GTK+ 1.x. I'm not sure but I think they do it this way to be sure it will work in old systems.
Are you interested in game programming? Join the Pascal Game Development community!
Also visit the Game Development Portal

Vincent Snijders

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2661
    • My Lazarus wiki user page
RE: Why Lazarus still com at default with GTK1?
« Reply #3 on: April 21, 2008, 01:42:22 pm »
Because the gtk2 widgetset support in the LCL is less complete and more buggy than gtk1. See also http://lazarus-dev.blogspot.com/2008/02/gtk2-planned-not-before-lazarus-12.html

rollyar

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
Re: Why Lazarus still com at default with GTK1?
« Reply #4 on: October 04, 2009, 12:16:54 am »
GTK1 was, I think they should leave the implementation GTK1 and give more emphasis to GTK2. Thanks for your great work.

Vincent Snijders

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2661
    • My Lazarus wiki user page
Re: Why Lazarus still com at default with GTK1?
« Reply #5 on: October 04, 2009, 01:17:55 pm »
rollyar, you are right. GTK2 is given a lot of more emphasis than GTK1 (which mostly just worked already) in the last two years and is (almost) as mature as GTK2. The next release 0.9.28 uses GTK2 by default, as do all the snapshots.