Recent

Author Topic: Executed App doesn't meet designed App  (Read 374 times)

dietmar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
Executed App doesn't meet designed App
« on: November 30, 2020, 11:37:00 pm »
Hi,

some years (!) ago, I wrote a small app which just works fine since then. Now, I wanted to enhance it a little bit, so I reopened it again (of course, I have now a notebook with a bigger screen resolution and a newer Lazarus version) and recompiled...

Unfortunately, the executed app just is not the same as the design view. In the old version, it was exactly the same - now, it is'nt (see the attached pics of design and executable view).

I tried playing around with the form's font size and others, but that didn't help anything. Has anybody an idea what I am missing?

Thx and have a lovely christmas time,
Dietmar
Lazarus 1.8.4 with FPC 3.0.4 on Windows10 64Bit

Bart

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4097
    • Bart en Mariska's Webstek
Re: Executed App doesn't meet designed App
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2020, 11:42:53 pm »
Scaled?

Bart

dietmar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
Re: Executed App doesn't meet designed App
« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2020, 12:45:04 am »
Doesn't make any difference, neither with "true" nor "false"...
Lazarus 1.8.4 with FPC 3.0.4 on Windows10 64Bit

wp

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7951
Re: Executed App doesn't meet designed App
« Reply #3 on: December 01, 2020, 12:53:49 am »
The normal way to create a high-dpi application is to turn on "LCL Scaling" in the project options, and to select the "on" option in the "DPI Awareness" combobox. Just in case that you changed the wrong things in playing: Every form has a property "Scaled" which must be checked (which it is by default).

Another hint to get a resolution and, in particular, font independent layout is not to align controls by the mouse but to anchor them to each other by means by means of the anchor editor. Please search the forum for "anchor editor" - there must be a recent post by myself with a detailed description.
Mainly Lazarus trunk / fpc 3.2.0 / all 32-bit on Win-10, but many more...

winni

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2117
Re: Executed App doesn't meet designed App
« Reply #4 on: December 01, 2020, 01:00:49 am »
Hi!

From experience:
Disable the "AutoSize" of all visible components.
And disable all Anchors of all visible components.

Then it works like some years ago.

There will be a great howling in this forum, because they are proud because of AutoSize and Anchors. I don't like a user interface that looks different after every resizing.It is wasting the time of the users.

Winni

lainz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3924
  • Leandro Diaz
Re: Executed App doesn't meet designed App
« Reply #5 on: December 01, 2020, 01:17:28 am »
According to the screenshots, seems that you're running on a DPI setting different from 100%, so the form is scaled.

Change your desktop settings to 100% and the app will look the same, and not blurred.

But if you do so, all will become smaller in the screen.

The thing is that your app will be scaled anyways if you change your Windows DPI. Is blured because you don't enable High DPI setting in project options.

dietmar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
Re: Executed App doesn't meet designed App
« Reply #6 on: December 01, 2020, 01:54:18 am »
thx @all, will try!

Dietmar
Lazarus 1.8.4 with FPC 3.0.4 on Windows10 64Bit

dietmar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
Re: Executed App doesn't meet designed App (SOLVED)
« Reply #7 on: December 01, 2020, 02:54:00 am »
Hi,

just want to let you know that enabling the "high DPI settings" in the project options did work . Now my app looks nice and not blurred anymore ;-)

Thanks to all of you for the hints.

Dietmar
Lazarus 1.8.4 with FPC 3.0.4 on Windows10 64Bit

 

TinyPortal © 2005-2018