Recent

Author Topic: Moving to Free Pascal from Visual Basic  (Read 691 times)

Wilko500

Moving to Free Pascal from Visual Basic
« on: November 13, 2020, 11:18:30 pm »
Hi,
I am an experienced VB6 programmer now retired but hobby programming.  I have been looking for an alternative to VB6 because VB6 (32bit) is getting difficult to run on windows.

Free Pascal/Lazarus seem like a very good candidate but I am wondering whether FP can achieve what I want.  I am not asking how to migrate, I would expect to rewrite code, nor how to do it, I expect to have to put effort into finding out, maybe with a little help.

My VB6 application draw a flowchart which can optionally be printed.  Please look at the attachment.  The output form is scaled to fit available screen space and all graphics are drawn in real world units, in my case mm's.  In VB6 the form has a scale property so that output is drawn scaled to fit the form size.  The same code produces both form output and printed output simply by changing an output director.

My question is can this be done in FP?  Comments, ideas, suggestions welcomed.

edit: I should have added that I want to develop in MacOs environment so I can junk my virtual Windows
Thanks
Richard
« Last Edit: November 13, 2020, 11:33:24 pm by Wilko500 »

dbannon

• tomboy-ng, a rewrite of the classic Tomboy
Re: Moving to Free Pascal from Visual Basic
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2020, 12:11:13 am »
Yes Richard, superficially, quite easy.  In Lazarus (thats the graphic tool kit) most components have a canvas. You draw on the canvas to display on the screen. And the printer also has a canvas, the same drawing tools will draw on the printers canvas.

Join us, do not be afraid....

Davo
Lazarus 2, Linux (and reluctantly Win10, OSX)
My Project - https://github.com/tomboy-notes/tomboy-ng

jamie

« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2020, 01:13:52 am »
for real world transforms I think the best solution would be to create a helper for the canvas which is what I did..