Recent

Author Topic: CheckComboBox bug in MacOS?  (Read 372 times)

AL

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 206
CheckComboBox bug in MacOS?
« on: October 22, 2020, 03:20:52 am »
I used a checkComboBox from the MISC tab.
It behave correctly in Windows and Linux, but the Mac version does not display properly.
A possible bug?
In Mac the title is repeated twice in the caption and the dropdown is rather a popup that hide the caption.
Also the checkbox is not shown in the caption as in Win and Linux.


simple demo project added
« Last Edit: October 22, 2020, 03:30:39 am by AL »
Laz 2.1.0, fpc 3.3.1, Win10
Laz 2.1.0, fpc 3.3.1, Mac OS Mojave running on VMWare
Laz 2.1.0  fpc 3.3.1 Ubuntu 20.04

AL

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 206
Re: CheckComboBox bug in MacOS?
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2020, 03:22:07 am »
Here is the Window display
Laz 2.1.0, fpc 3.3.1, Win10
Laz 2.1.0, fpc 3.3.1, Mac OS Mojave running on VMWare
Laz 2.1.0  fpc 3.3.1 Ubuntu 20.04

trev

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1057
  • Former Delphi 1-7, 10.2 User
Re: CheckComboBox bug in MacOS?
« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2020, 03:42:41 am »
A possible bug?

Yep - same here. Lodge a bug in the Bugtracker.
o Lazarus v2.1.0 r63871, FPC v3.3.1 r47164, macOS 10.14.6, Xcode 11.3.1
o Lazarus v2.1.0 r64160, FPC v3.3.1 Nov 27 21:16:31, macOS 11.0.1 (aarch64), Xcode 12.2
o Lazarus v2.1.0 r61574, FPC v3.3.1 r42318, FreeBSD 12.1 amd64 (VMware VM)
o Lazarus v2.1.0 r61574, FPC v3.0.4, Ubuntu 20.04 (PD VM)

AL

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 206
Re: CheckComboBox bug in MacOS?
« Reply #3 on: October 22, 2020, 03:40:26 pm »
0037967: checkComboBox from the MISC tab does not work properly in MacOS
Laz 2.1.0, fpc 3.3.1, Win10
Laz 2.1.0, fpc 3.3.1, Mac OS Mojave running on VMWare
Laz 2.1.0  fpc 3.3.1 Ubuntu 20.04

AL

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 206
Re: CheckComboBox bug in MacOS?
« Reply #4 on: October 23, 2020, 04:03:39 pm »
Is there another component I could use instead?
I need a dropdown list for 5 items with multiselect.
Laz 2.1.0, fpc 3.3.1, Win10
Laz 2.1.0, fpc 3.3.1, Mac OS Mojave running on VMWare
Laz 2.1.0  fpc 3.3.1 Ubuntu 20.04

wp

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7737
Re: CheckComboBox bug in MacOS?
« Reply #5 on: October 23, 2020, 05:11:05 pm »
TCheckCombobox is not very useful even on Windows because it does not list the checked items in the non-dropped-down case. If you have more space on the form you could work around using TCheckListbox or even TCheckGroup.
Mainly Lazarus trunk / fpc 3.2.0 / all 32-bit on Win-10, but many more...

AL

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 206
Re: CheckComboBox bug in MacOS?
« Reply #6 on: October 25, 2020, 09:26:03 pm »
Finally ended using a button and a PopUpmenu for the time being.
This is working on all platform.
No big problem as I had only 5 items to display/choose.
And since this is multi select I did not need the selected item in the caption.
Thanks all!
Laz 2.1.0, fpc 3.3.1, Win10
Laz 2.1.0, fpc 3.3.1, Mac OS Mojave running on VMWare
Laz 2.1.0  fpc 3.3.1 Ubuntu 20.04

 

TinyPortal © 2005-2018