Recent

Author Topic: synapse and Raspbian  (Read 283 times)

krolikbest

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
synapse and Raspbian
« on: October 20, 2020, 07:16:01 pm »
Hi,

 currently I build some data-collecting system from sensors. It works in this way that uC collects some datas from various sensors and sends it through esp8266 to my program on pc-side. uC communicates with esp8266  through uart and esp8266 acts as wifi "adapter" for uC. On the pc-side works my program. This application on the one hand collects incoming datas from esp8266 (Synapse) and on the other hand acts also as http server (fpWeb) for presentation received data. Where is problem?
So actually it works, when I run this on pc (intel machine with Win7) - works without problems: connection is stabile, datas are collected without errors -test lasted for a few hours.
But when I run my application on RPi Stretch there it can be even after few minutes "host unreachable" or  "connection timed out". My suspicions are antenna singnal range of RPi. The RPi doesn't act as AP. It is like another machine in my local net. Most likely I add to RPi external usb-antenna but  maybe someone had similar issues with hardware (RPi) and knows what else to pay attention to?
Compilation made on Win7, Intel, Lazarus 2.0.10

Regards,

rvk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4384
Re: synapse and Raspbian
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2020, 08:43:00 pm »
RPI Stretch? What version of PI is this (old?)?
What USB WiFi stick do you use?
RPI 2 (and 3 I think) had some serious issues with WiFi.

Try testing it temporally with a cable connected to see if it helps and the problem is really WiFi.

krolikbest

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
Re: synapse and Raspbian
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2020, 09:38:06 pm »
Pi3+, wifi built-in, so currently it's not any stick. Definitely something with wifi. eth0 OK.

rvk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4384
Re: synapse and Raspbian
« Reply #3 on: October 20, 2020, 10:11:28 pm »
Why didn't you upgrade to buster?

I seem to remember stretch had problems with the internal wifi chip.
Did you fully upgrade all stretch packages?

Some other suggedtions can be found here
https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/viewtopic.php?t=188891

krolikbest

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
Re: synapse and Raspbian
« Reply #4 on: October 20, 2020, 10:47:17 pm »
yes, update and upgrade went ok. But thanks for an interesting info- exactly, i temporarily lose signal despite is strong enough.

rvk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4384
Re: synapse and Raspbian
« Reply #5 on: October 20, 2020, 10:52:56 pm »
I hope it's solved now.
If not, that page has lots more suggestion.
The ultimate one would be doing a dist-upgrade to go to buster.

https://www.google.com/search?q=update+stretch+to+buster

(Or doing a completely new install of buster on your sdcard)

 

TinyPortal © 2005-2018