Recent

Author Topic: Qt5 on 32bit Linux  (Read 385 times)

dbannon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1137
    • tomboy-ng, a rewrite of the classic Tomboy
Qt5 on 32bit Linux
« on: August 04, 2020, 12:57:10 pm »
It seems 32bit Qt5 on Linux is a problem.  But I don't understand why.

Our own wiki says "... no support for 32 bit Qt5 binary versions from Digia, so if you need 32 bit Qt5 on Linux you must build a complete Qt5 on your own... " https://wiki.freepascal.org/Qt5_Interface

Qt Documentation has a nice table that lists SUSe, RedHat and U18.04 as being x86_64 only but "generic Linux" as being both x86 and x86_64. An interesting specialization ??

The makefile for libqt5pas has x86_64 specific paths in it.

I could setup a 32bit VM and pull down the necessary files and try and edit that Makefile to build a libqt5pas but wonder if someone can tell me to not waste my time because it not going to work.   

Am I right in thinking that all thats stopping me from compiling a Lazarus Linux 32bit Qt5 app  is libqt5pas ?

Is there any specific reason why I cannot compile a 32bit libqt5pas ?

Anyone ? 

The reason I ask is I want to get my app into the Debian repos, they don't want any more GTK2 apps and they, unlike Ubuntu still support 32bit Linux.   Hmm....

Davo
Lazarus 2, Linux (and reluctantly Win10, OSX)
My Project - https://github.com/tomboy-notes/tomboy-ng

lucamar

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3017
Re: Qt5 on 32bit Linux
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2020, 01:22:17 pm »
Have you tried any of the packages in https://pkgs.org/download/libqt5pas-dev ?
Turbo Pascal 3 CP/M - Amstrad PCW 8256 (512 KB !!!) :P
Lazarus 2.0.8/FPC 3.0.4 - 32/64 bits on:
(K|L|X)Ubuntu 12..18, Windows XP, 7, 10 and various DOSes.

dbannon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1137
    • tomboy-ng, a rewrite of the classic Tomboy
Re: Qt5 on 32bit Linux
« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2020, 01:34:59 pm »
 > Have you tried any of the packages in https://pkgs.org/download/libqt5pas-dev ?

No, but I don't really need to.  Debian has libqt5pas1 (and presumably -dev) in its repositories.  I guess that what I am trying to understand, if we cannot make 32bit Qt linux apps, why have they got a 32bit libqt5pas ?   If its not for Lazarus apps, what is it for ?

While I sit here, I have started downloading a 32bit bullseye image .....   Oh, my aching internet bandwidth !

Davo
Lazarus 2, Linux (and reluctantly Win10, OSX)
My Project - https://github.com/tomboy-notes/tomboy-ng

lucamar

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3017
Re: Qt5 on 32bit Linux
« Reply #3 on: August 04, 2020, 02:51:19 pm »
Well, since there are both 32 bits Qt5 libs and LibQTt5Pas there should be little or no problem, unless the Lazarus widgetset specifically requires 64 bits? I've no idea, sorry :-[
Turbo Pascal 3 CP/M - Amstrad PCW 8256 (512 KB !!!) :P
Lazarus 2.0.8/FPC 3.0.4 - 32/64 bits on:
(K|L|X)Ubuntu 12..18, Windows XP, 7, 10 and various DOSes.

dbannon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1137
    • tomboy-ng, a rewrite of the classic Tomboy
Re: Qt5 on 32bit Linux
« Reply #4 on: August 04, 2020, 03:18:53 pm »
Yep. It works fine.  just run up a std 32bit debian bullseye (Testing)

FPC320 from tarball and installed the usual suspects, and, importantly, libqt5pas-dev,  built Lazarus 2.0.10 and it makes a pretty normal QT5 app.  So far its just a simple window with a memo (memo is important, breaks out of date libqt5pas) and it works fine !

If I can build my somewhat larger project, tomorrow (its late here!), I will edit the Qt5 page !

Davo
Lazarus 2, Linux (and reluctantly Win10, OSX)
My Project - https://github.com/tomboy-notes/tomboy-ng

dbannon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1137
    • tomboy-ng, a rewrite of the classic Tomboy
Re: Qt5 on 32bit Linux
« Reply #5 on: August 05, 2020, 03:21:58 am »
I can confirm that there are no linux 32bit Qt5 issues. Its works just the same as the 64bit system.
 
I have removed the line "There's no support for 32 bit Qt5 binary versions from Digia, so if you need 32 bit Qt5 on Linux you must build a complete Qt5 on your own, including libQt5Pas." from the wiki page on Qt5, it does not need to be there.

Davo

Lazarus 2, Linux (and reluctantly Win10, OSX)
My Project - https://github.com/tomboy-notes/tomboy-ng

 

TinyPortal © 2005-2018