Recent

Author Topic: Is Pascal the right language for me ?  (Read 14670 times)

Webdrifter

Is Pascal the right language for me ?
« on: June 25, 2020, 10:12:17 pm »
Hello,

I,m new to this forum so I hope this is the right place for my questions.

I would like to pick up programming again.
I learned programming in Assembler and Pascal (have been out that for 35 years),
and I have had some experience with HTML, PHP and SQL (about 10 years ago).

I would like to realize a project. It is however not the easiest project to program, to say it mildly.   
So I’ve been searching for the best program language(s)/frameworks  to work with.
And I prefer to learn as little languages and frameworks as possible, since it will already be demanding enough.

My needs:
  • Multi-platform
          - Mobile, tablet, desktop;
          - Android, Window7 en hoger, iOS, ipadOS, MacOS, Linux;
          - Standalone, Chrome, Safari, Firefox;
  • Good adaptivity to screen sizes;
  • Scrape information from the web;
  • Get additional information from users all over the world;
  • Prepare this information for use in a neural network;
  • Use this information in a neural network (preferably peer to peer redundantly distributed);
  • Us the results for actions on the internet (connecting to API’s running on 3rd party servers);
  • Us the results for actions on user devices;
  • Off-line first where possible (using PouchDB?);
  • Fast UI, fast reliable communication, fast response from neural net, even on mobile phones;
  • Fiercely secured against attempts to disrupt data collection, -communication and -processing;
  • Automated backup facility if so needed (Central, distributed, hybrid; Whatever would be best; It’s open for suggestions).
I know I’m setting myself up for failure. But hey, as long as I’m having fun doing it….
For instance the more info I search on the subject the less I seem to see the forest for the trees.

However, I ended up with this shortlist (for now):