Recent

Author Topic: LAzarus and cs keyboard  (Read 14219 times)

DRK

  • Guest
LAzarus and cs keyboard
« on: September 01, 2003, 10:15:49 am »
Can anybody help me? I use Lazarus 0.9.0.(1 and 2) fpc v 1.0.10 on Mandrake Linux 9.1. and KDE 3.1, and i need to use czech keyboard.  In all other aplications keyboard works fine, but in Lazarus source code editor it did not... used font is ok i can simply copy czech chars using CTRL+C/CTRL+V but when i try write it directly, some keys on czech keyboard does not work /for examle ???? / us keyboard work fine...  :0(((

Marc

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2584
LAzarus and cs keyboard
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2003, 11:34:21 pm »
What's so special about czech keyboard ?
Where is the / located ?

The reason why it works in other applications and not in the code editor is that the codeeditor is originally a Delphi project and it is havely based on win32 API. So also for keyhandling.
The current solution is based on a generic keyboard where special CRTL/SHFT/etc -key combinations doent work.
We have ideas to get around it, but don't know if it is implemented soon (if possibele at all)
//--
{$I stdsig.inc}
//-I still can't read someones mind
//-Bugs reported here will be forgotten. Use the bug tracker

DRK

  • Guest
CS keyboard
« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2003, 11:53:41 am »
well we have more chars then others, there are located on keys where are digits or special chars. Without them i cannot regurally write czech text :0(
in standard english there are ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ in czech aábc?dd'eé?fghchiíjklmnn'pqr?s?tt'u?úvwxyz? its not realy problem and in linux it works fine, many of these chars are located on top of keyboard where in english are !@#$%^&*{}=...... and part of them doesnot work especially chars under 23456 keys... :0( ... Its relay sucha problem? what about russian azbuka and others...

DRK

  • Guest
CS keyboard
« Reply #3 on: September 02, 2003, 11:56:07 am »
I have tried Kylix 3 open. /but it is not open at all.. :0(/ And i must say that kylix source code editor works fine with czech keyboard...

DRK

  • Guest
CS keyboard
« Reply #4 on: September 02, 2003, 11:59:23 am »
And again some of theese chars does not need using CTRL-SHIFT.... combinations and still they does not work :0(...

Marc

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2584
Re: CS keyboard
« Reply #5 on: September 02, 2003, 12:35:35 pm »
Quote from: "DRK"
well we have more chars then others, there are located on keys where are digits or special chars. Without them i cannot regurally write czech text :0(

I understand that. (More non english languages have that)
Quote

in standard english there are ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ in czech aábc?dd'eé?fghchiíjklmnn'pqr?s?tt'u?úvwxyz? its not realy problem and in linux it works fine, many of these chars are located on top of keyboard where in english are !@#$%^&*{}=...... and part of them doesnot work especially chars under 23456 keys... :0( ... Its relay sucha problem? what about russian azbuka and others...


Yes it is really a problem, the problem is as follow:
As I said, the editor depends on winapi, to be more specific the WM_KEY messages.  Those messages contain only the unshifted VK_ keyvalues. From GTK we get the shifted values.  So we need to "translate" those values.  For all "foreign" chars I think it isn't translated right.
If I understand it right, you are able to enter upper ASCII chars with a single keystroke ?

Hmmm... mayby I should get such keyboard :)
//--
{$I stdsig.inc}
//-I still can't read someones mind
//-Bugs reported here will be forgotten. Use the bug tracker

Marc

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2584
Re: Lazarus and cs keyboard
« Reply #6 on: September 23, 2003, 01:05:54 am »
Quote from: "DRK"
In all other aplications keyboard works fine, but in Lazarus source code editor it did not... used font is ok i can simply copy czech chars using CTRL+C/CTRL+V but when i try write it directly, some keys on czech keyboard does not work /for examle ???? / us keyboard work fine...  :0(((


OK, I'm working on this and if all goes well it should work better :)

Question: What font are you using in the source code editor ?
It seems that I can only find 2char fonts to display czech chars and the editor doesn't like that.
//--
{$I stdsig.inc}
//-I still can't read someones mind
//-Bugs reported here will be forgotten. Use the bug tracker

Marc

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2584
LAzarus and cs keyboard
« Reply #7 on: October 17, 2003, 11:29:38 am »
OK, I should be fixed now :)
//--
{$I stdsig.inc}
//-I still can't read someones mind
//-Bugs reported here will be forgotten. Use the bug tracker

 

TinyPortal © 2005-2018