Recent

Author Topic: How I define a remote DB server in TIBConnection?  (Read 537 times)

egsuh

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 381
How I define a remote DB server in TIBConnection?
« on: May 28, 2020, 05:45:23 am »
How can I define database on other PC within Intranet?

I think I define something in HostName and DatabaseName.

Ping 192.168.168.101 is OK. But putting 192.168.168.101 or http://192.168.168.101 in the HostName property of TIBConnection does not work.

dsiders

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 305
Re: How I define a remote DB server in TIBConnection?
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2020, 04:14:11 pm »
How can I define database on other PC within Intranet?

I think I define something in HostName and DatabaseName.

Ping 192.168.168.101 is OK. But putting 192.168.168.101 or http://192.168.168.101 in the HostName property of TIBConnection does not work.

You say "Intranet"... to me that means Local Area Network with no firewall.

  • Set HostName to the IP address.
  • Set DatabaseName to the database alias (if there is one) or the full path (including file extension) to the .fdb file.
  • Set UserName and Password to desired values (use the correct case).

It might be helpful to know the actually error message instead of "does not work".

HTH...
Lazarus 2.1 (SVN) / FPC 3.0.4 / FPC 3.2.0 / x86-win64 / Windows 8.1

egsuh

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 381
Re: How I define a remote DB server in TIBConnection?
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2020, 05:00:13 am »
Hi dsiders,

Thank you for your comment. I checked myself, and I think my problem is networking problem. There are two PCs, let's say A and B. Database server is B, both are with Windows 10.
I can see the icon of B at A, but cannot connect to it even though I assigned one of B's folders as shared. But B can access A, if I enter the password.

mangakissa

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1065
Re: How I define a remote DB server in TIBConnection?
« Reply #3 on: May 29, 2020, 09:05:31 am »
W10 Firewall problems?
Lazarus 2.06 (64b) / FPC 3.0.4 / Windows 10
stucked on Delphi 10.3.1

egsuh

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 381
Re: How I define a remote DB server in TIBConnection?
« Reply #4 on: June 03, 2020, 03:40:29 am »

Quote
W10 Firewall problems?

Not sure. I tried several ways that suggested on the Internet, but nothing was successful.
I have no intention to look into this issue myself right now. Finding someone else to solve this problem would be faster at several bottles of beer.

 

TinyPortal © 2005-2018