Recent

Author Topic: Pascal Language Server  (Read 10573 times)

arjan

Pascal Language Server
« on: April 23, 2020, 01:36:09 am »
I am new to Pascal programming and since I like using Emacs, I wanted to try to improve its support for editing Pascal code. I decided to implement an LSP server which text editors can use as back-end for providing IDE features. The server is implemented in Free Pascal and uses the CodeTools package for doing the actual work.

The implementation is still incomplete and unstable but so far I managed to get code completion working. Apart from improving stability and adding features, I am sure there are more possible improvements, since this is my first Pascal project. The project can be found at https://github.com/arjanadriaanse/pascal-language-server, any help and feedback is welcome.

A module is provided for using the server from Emacs, but it should be straightforward to add support for other LSP clients such as Visual Studio Code.

PascalDragon

• Compiler Developer
Re: Pascal Language Server
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2020, 09:54:26 am »
Oh, cool! :D

Maybe someone will write an LSP client package for Lazarus, so that we could use language servers for other languages in Lazarus as well. :D

arjan

« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2020, 01:43:17 pm »
I do not know much about the internals of Lazarus, but I guess that would not be too hard, since CodeTools is a separate package that could be replaced with one which implements LSP.

JiaXing

« Reply #3 on: April 23, 2020, 03:27:55 pm »
Great!
I'm subscribed to the church of 440bx. Say no to OOP  :P

Leledumbo

• Programming + Glam Metal + Tae Kwon Do = Me
« Reply #4 on: April 25, 2020, 12:09:14 am »
As someone claiming new to Pascal programming, your code looks too advanced. I believe many Pascal old timers don't even know how to make a simple JSON-RPC server using FPC libraries, while you make one rather smoothly, even using advanced generics.

JiaXing