Recent

Author Topic: (Solved) Really need Help  (Read 726 times)

JLWest

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 934
(Solved) Really need Help
« on: April 19, 2020, 05:25:44 am »
I wrote a program and it works fine on my machine. I then zipped up the exe along with a user manual and some data files the program needs.

Before I posted the zip on my GDrive I copied it to another drive on my computer, unzipped it and it ran fine.   

I posted the zip on my GDrive, set an e-mail to my friend along with the link. He downloads the zip and installed the program. All he get is a program ICON on his bar at the bottom of his screen.

What is going on with this I wonder.

Were both running Windows.

Anybody got any idea?
« Last Edit: October 23, 2020, 01:18:09 am by JLWest »
FPC 3.2.0, Lazarus IDE v2.0.4
 Windows 10 Pro 32-GB
 Intel i7 770K CPU 4.2GHz 32702MB Ram
GeForce GTX 1080 Graphics - 8 Gig
4.1 TB

ASBzone

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 479
  • Automation leads to relaxation...
    • Free Console Utilities for Windows from BrainWaveCC
Re: Really need Help
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2020, 05:55:09 am »
I wrote a program and it works fine on my machine. I then zipped up the exe along with a user manual and some data files the program needs.

Before I posted the zip on my GDrive I copied it to another drive on my computer, unzipped it and it ran fine.   

I posted the zip on my GDrive, set an e-mail to my friend along with the link. He downloads the zip and installed the program. All he get is a program ICON on his bar at the bottom of his screen.

What is going on with this I wonder.

Were both running Windows.

Anybody got any idea?




Need more info.


Have you tried to download the executable for yourself on a different machine from the one you compiled it on?


Have you checked that antivirus activity is not involved?


What versions of Windows are in use?
-ASB: https://www.BrainWaveCC.com

Lazarus v2.0.11 r64032 / FPC v3.2.1-r47152 (via FpcUpDeluxe) -- Windows 64-bit install w/32-bit cross-compile
Primary System: Windows 10 Pro x64, Version 2009 (Build 19042)
Other Systems: Windows 10 Pro x64, Version 2004 (Build 19041) or greater

Handoko

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3912
  • My goal: build my own game engine using Lazarus
Re: Really need Help
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2020, 06:01:43 am »
@JLWest

Simply testing it by copying it to another drive on the same computer cannot really make sure it will run on others computers.

An easy way to test is to create a virtual machine and test running the program inside the virtual machine. You can use VirtualBox or VMware.

The issue you have, I guess is a dependency problem. Make sure all the libraries your program uses, are available or correctly deployed on the user's computer.

And as @ASBzone mentioned, antivirus can be the problem too. Many antiviruses have false warning running programs build using Lazarus/FPC.
« Last Edit: April 19, 2020, 06:04:14 am by Handoko »

PaulRowntree

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 132
    • Paul Rowntree
Re: Really need Help
« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2020, 06:14:56 am »
If you get an icon, it sounds like the code is running ... does the task manager show it running?
This can happen if you have developed on a multi-screen system, but your friend is running with a different configuration.  One fix is to force the program to use the primary monitor.
Cheers!
« Last Edit: April 19, 2020, 06:16:34 am by PaulRowntree »
Paul Rowntree
- coding for instrument control, data acquisition & analysis, CNC systems

JLWest

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 934
Re: Really need Help
« Reply #4 on: April 19, 2020, 06:40:51 am »
AH, Yes I did develop the code on two monitors. I don't know what his setup is.

How do I force the program to use the primary monitor. Is there a setting or something.

Have you tried to download the executable for yourself on a different machine from the one you compiled it on?

Will do.


Have you checked that antivirus activity is not involved?

Well no. When you download from GDrive it checks for virus, but he may have something running.

What versions of Windows are in use?

Were both using Win 10 pro.

@Handako

All I shipped was the pgm.exe and some text files the program reads for configuration. I would post the code but it is a program that does API's to a couple of sites and has my KEY and program ID in the text files. It won't run without those.

Is there something else I should have shipped.


 

What versions of Windows are in use?

FPC 3.2.0, Lazarus IDE v2.0.4
 Windows 10 Pro 32-GB
 Intel i7 770K CPU 4.2GHz 32702MB Ram
GeForce GTX 1080 Graphics - 8 Gig
4.1 TB

Handoko

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3912
  • My goal: build my own game engine using Lazarus
Re: Really need Help
« Reply #5 on: April 19, 2020, 06:52:30 am »
For the monitor issue, I haven't tested but you can try:

On design time, select the form and using the Object Inspector don't set the Position to poDesigned (which is the default value). Instead you can set it to poDesktopCenter or poScreenCenter. You may also need to pay attention on the DefaultMonitor property.

JLWest

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 934
Re: Really need Help
« Reply #6 on: April 19, 2020, 07:23:31 am »
I have news and it's not good. Managed to download the package on another machine and there was the program ICON in the task bar, Task Manager showed it was running. But no display.

Ok. Set the position on the forum to poDeskTopCenter and the defaultmonitor to dmDesktop.

And recompiled.

Will retest. Probably tomorrow but will let you know.

 
FPC 3.2.0, Lazarus IDE v2.0.4
 Windows 10 Pro 32-GB
 Intel i7 770K CPU 4.2GHz 32702MB Ram
GeForce GTX 1080 Graphics - 8 Gig
4.1 TB

jamie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3797
Re: Really need Help
« Reply #7 on: April 19, 2020, 12:48:57 pm »
You need to test the form's position and size during the form create process and ensure it will fit on the users screen.. If not, then make an adjustment to a store users file you may have..

 If you are not using a config file then the form should know how to do this itself on startup, it should be able to test to ensure that any monitor settings it may have been compiled with should adapt to the users desktop if those settings are wrong.

 In any case for the time being you can do the same during the OnCreate event for the form.
The only true wisdom is knowing you know nothing

JLWest

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 934
Re: Really need Help (Solved)
« Reply #8 on: April 20, 2020, 08:43:45 am »
It was indeed the two development vs deployment.

Thank you one and all and stay safe.
FPC 3.2.0, Lazarus IDE v2.0.4
 Windows 10 Pro 32-GB
 Intel i7 770K CPU 4.2GHz 32702MB Ram
GeForce GTX 1080 Graphics - 8 Gig
4.1 TB

jwdietrich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1153
    • formatio reticularis
Re: Really need Help
« Reply #9 on: April 20, 2020, 09:01:26 am »
Please mark the subject line of your initial post with "[Solved]" in the beginning.
function GetRandomNumber: integer; // xkcd.com
begin
  GetRandomNumber := 4; // chosen by fair dice roll. Guaranteed to be random.
end;

http://www.formatio-reticularis.de

Lazarus 2.0.10 | FPC 3.2.0 | PPC, Intel, ARM | macOS, Windows, Linux

 

TinyPortal © 2005-2018