Recent

Author Topic: Multiline checkbox  (Read 6350 times)

Mahis

  • New member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Multiline checkbox
« on: May 28, 2013, 01:51:12 am »
Should be nice to have multiline checkbox (probably, as property WordWrap). Delphi invoked it a long time ago.
Currently, I use a workaround in OnActivate:
  SetWindowLong(MyCheckbox.Handle, GWL_STYLE,GetWindowLong(MyCheckbox.Handle, GWL_STYLE) OR BS_MULTILINE);
But with this approach, I see result only in runtime.
Thank you,
Mahris

Blaazen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3006
  • POKE 54296,15
    • Eye-Candy Controls
Re: Multiline checkbox
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2013, 02:12:39 am »
Did you try to click the small button on the right of Caption field in Object Inspector and edit the multiline text in Strings Editor Dialog? This way it shows me the multiline caption of checkbox also at design time. (I am on Linux+Qt).
Lazarus 2.1.0 r64115 FPC 3.3.1 r40507 x86_64-linux-qt Chakra, Qt 4.8.7/5.13.2, Plasma 5.17.3
Lazarus 1.8.2 r57369 FPC 3.0.4 i386-win32-win32/win64 Wine 3.21

Try Eye-Candy Controls: https://sourceforge.net/projects/eccontrols/files/

Mahis

  • New member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Multiline checkbox
« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2013, 02:20:55 am »
Tried, on Windows 64. Entered multiline text is joined and displayed in a single line at designtime and runtime.

Blaazen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3006
  • POKE 54296,15
    • Eye-Candy Controls
Re: Multiline checkbox
« Reply #3 on: May 28, 2013, 02:26:14 am »
So it depends on widgetset. See here: http://bugs.freepascal.org/view.php?id=22937
Lazarus 2.1.0 r64115 FPC 3.3.1 r40507 x86_64-linux-qt Chakra, Qt 4.8.7/5.13.2, Plasma 5.17.3
Lazarus 1.8.2 r57369 FPC 3.0.4 i386-win32-win32/win64 Wine 3.21

Try Eye-Candy Controls: https://sourceforge.net/projects/eccontrols/files/

Mahis

  • New member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Multiline checkbox
« Reply #4 on: May 28, 2013, 12:14:41 pm »
Agree, depend. It is the reason I posted it it suggestions, not bugs.
And it is extremely easy to implement it in Windows.
I already do it in my OnActivate.

BigChimp

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5740
  • Add to the wiki - it's free ;)
    • FPCUp, PaperTiger scanning and other open source projects
Re: Multiline checkbox
« Reply #5 on: May 28, 2013, 12:24:13 pm »
So... perhaps you could submit a patch ;)
Want quicker answers to your questions? Read http://wiki.lazarus.freepascal.org/Lazarus_Faq#What_is_the_correct_way_to_ask_questions_in_the_forum.3F

Open source including papertiger OCR/PDF scanning:
https://bitbucket.org/reiniero

Lazarus trunk+FPC trunk x86, Windows x64 unless otherwise specified

 

TinyPortal © 2005-2018