Recent

Author Topic: Help! I can't change the code editor font  (Read 368 times)

Hoch

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 27
Help! I can't change the code editor font
« on: January 24, 2020, 03:05:57 pm »
Hi,

When I change the code editor font, the font picker displays the font correctly but Lazarus uses always the same one, no matter which font I choose. The only thing that changes is the size and spacing.

Check the appended screenshots. You can see that the font I choose is not displayed correctly in the preview of the prefs dialog and in the code editor.

And the font spacing is weird. It's very uncomfortable to work with this font spacing.

Things I've done:

. Tried all the monospace fonts
. Uninstalled Lazarus and installed again, renaming the /home/user_name/.lazarus folder to force a clean one.
. Downgraded linux kernel from 5.4 to 5.3
. Checked font permissions in /usr/share/fonts/
. Upgraded Lazarus 2.0.6 to the last one offered by pacman (25/12/2019)

Nothing works.

The font picker detects the fonts right. And other apps see and use the fonts correctly.

Clearly there is an issue with Lazarus.

System was Manjaro with 5.4 kernel, downgraded to 5.3.
Lazarus version is 2.0.6. (25/12/2019)

Any clues of where to look to fix this?...

Thank you in advance!
« Last Edit: January 26, 2020, 12:49:18 pm by Hoch »

C#R#

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 42
Re: Help! I can't change the code editor font
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2020, 03:42:05 pm »
yep !!  same problem here, i can't use lazarus !
with kde neon it's work fine, but on manjaro the fonts are very
ugly and don't change !

Warfley

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
Re: Help! I can't change the code editor font
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2020, 03:48:02 pm »
Are you using QT5 as widgetset?

If so, you have two possibilities: 1. use a different widget set (e.g. GTK-2) (when installing lazarus via pacman on manjaro simply install lazarus-gtk2 package) 2. Simply reinstall lazarus until it works. Had the same problem, after uninstalling everything (lazarus and qt5pas) and reinstalling it it worked.

Don't ask me what is wrong there, I have absolutely no clue. It sometimes works and sometimes not

C#R#

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 42
Re: Help! I can't change the code editor font
« Reply #3 on: May 25, 2020, 04:33:03 pm »
yes, that's it !
tools ->   configure build lazarus ->  choose LCL widget type = gtk2
work!

Thanks !

Martin_fr

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6374
    • wiki
Re: Help! I can't change the code editor font
« Reply #4 on: May 25, 2020, 04:47:17 pm »
Best to report on the bugtracker, please

 

TinyPortal © 2005-2018