Recent

Author Topic: Synapse Ping bad responses  (Read 1000 times)

winni

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2009
Re: Synapse Ping bad responses
« Reply #15 on: January 15, 2020, 06:41:52 pm »
@winni
There are just as many servers that drop pings by any of the means I described.
I supposed he pings a particular server over which he does not have control.

I dont't know if the Dutch have a ping allergy.

From Northern Germany a dropped ping is a very rare event.
I only remember one example: The german Spiegel magazine had disabled the ping some years ago.
That's all.

Winni

MarkMLl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1455
Re: Synapse Ping bad responses
« Reply #16 on: January 15, 2020, 06:48:22 pm »
From Northern Germany a dropped ping is a very rare event.
I only remember one example: The german Spiegel magazine had disabled the ping some years ago.

I've seen plenty. Just because somebody is prepared to expose HTTP or DNS doesn't mean they're prepared to respond to pings, and very often if you use Traceroute you can only get to one hop away from the actual server.

MarkMLl
Turbo Pascal v1 on CCP/M-86, multitasking with LAN and graphics in 128Kb.
Pet hate: people who boast about the size and sophistication of their computer.

Thaddy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10585
Re: Synapse Ping bad responses
« Reply #17 on: January 15, 2020, 06:49:36 pm »
Correct. Also: try some German banks... O:-) Not particularly the portal but a known subdomain...

[edit] funny test:
my.vodafone.nl // drops pings. Applause,
my.vodafone.de // does NOT drop pings...  :D :D

binckbank.nl // drops pings because I said so...based on government provided best practice.
« Last Edit: January 15, 2020, 07:05:47 pm by Thaddy »

peardox

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 64
Re: Synapse Ping bad responses
« Reply #18 on: January 15, 2020, 06:53:19 pm »
A related observation...

I copied the app over to my Mac - that one didn't ping at all, odd.

Not looked into it properly - just compiled and it didn't ping. Synapse don't explicitly say it supports OSX but most things work equally well on Win/Mac/Linux

When I've tidied it up I'dd also try it on my Linux box, Raspberry Pi etc

MarkMLl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1455
Re: Synapse Ping bad responses
« Reply #19 on: January 15, 2020, 07:39:12 pm »
I copied the app over to my Mac - that one didn't ping at all, odd.

User capabilities. Sending ping generally needs capabilities that an unprivileged user doesn't have, and Synapse might be able to work round that on one OS but not on another (e.g. on Linux ping and ping6 are generally either setuid root or have had extra capabilities granted them: see setcap and getcap, and a thread from a week or so ago).

MarkMLl
Turbo Pascal v1 on CCP/M-86, multitasking with LAN and graphics in 128Kb.
Pet hate: people who boast about the size and sophistication of their computer.

 

TinyPortal © 2005-2018