Recent

Author Topic: IDE freezing the OS  (Read 6297 times)

c600g

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: IDE freezing the OS
« Reply #45 on: November 06, 2019, 11:13:54 pm »
I've just used fpcupdeluxe to install fpc fixes3.0 and Lazarus fixes2.0 (Qt5 interface) and it seems to work so far.
.
I wonder if it is version 2.0 that works better or Qt5.

I just rebuilt Lazarus using fpcupdeluxe for the Gtk widget set, and experienced the same semi-freeze experienced with the .deb packages. It must be a Gnome issue. I've also encountered long launch times for other applications, so I think there is something fundamentally borked in the Gnome / GTK environment.

Alan

dbannon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 788
    • tomboy-ng, a rewrite of the classic Tomboy
Re: IDE freezing the OS
« Reply #46 on: November 06, 2019, 11:19:41 pm »
I just rebuilt Lazarus using fpcupdeluxe for the Gtk widget set, and experienced the same semi-freeze experienced with the .deb packages. It must be a Gnome issue. I've also encountered long launch times for other applications, so I think there is something fundamentally borked in the Gnome / GTK environment.

No, I am afraid its more than just Gnome(-shell), I have tested two other ubuntu desktops and they show the same problem.  Interesting, my app (which is quite small) works fine. I still think it relates to dbus (my app does not use dbus) but have just not had the time to try and isolate it down....

Davo
Lazarus 2, Linux (and reluctantly Win10, OSX)
My Project - https://github.com/tomboy-notes/tomboy-ng

dbannon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 788
    • tomboy-ng, a rewrite of the classic Tomboy
Re: IDE freezing the OS
« Reply #47 on: November 07, 2019, 08:17:45 am »
I still think it relates to dbus (my app does not use dbus) but have just not had the time to try and isolate it down....

Two problems with that theory, firstly, I cannot find any dbus action in the Lazarus IDE and, secondly, I made a small pascal dbus comms app that responds instantly. Sigh ....

Davo
Lazarus 2, Linux (and reluctantly Win10, OSX)
My Project - https://github.com/tomboy-notes/tomboy-ng

Zvoni

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 301
Re: IDE freezing the OS
« Reply #48 on: November 07, 2019, 06:56:35 pm »
OK, quick report.
i found on bugs.launchpad.net a lot of entries complaining about freezes on U1910
In nearly every single instance, the dev's/mod's there said to remove (not just disable) any gnome-shell-extensions (in particualr 3rd party) and to test again.
What do you know? i removed some extensions i don't use, and now it seems (!) to work.
While on Tuesday i could not even install an OS in my VirtualBox, now it ran without problem.
Had System-Monitor running and i watched it closely for hangups (CPU=100%) and/or running out of RAM.

Suggestion: Everybody who has freezes, remove extensions!
I don't know if it's any particular extension fouling everything up, but that's what it was for me, at least up until now.

Will have to do some more tests with actions which did cause a Lock-up (would you believe it? opening a 2MB Textfile with gedit locked up my system)

EDIT: What i remember removing:
Window Placement (or whatever it's called)
Harddisk LED (or something)
No Annoyance
« Last Edit: November 07, 2019, 07:01:32 pm by Zvoni »
One System to rule them all, One IDE to find them,
One Code to bring them all, and to the Framework bind them,
in the Land of Redmond, where the Windows lie
---------------------------------------------------------------------
People call me crazy, because i'm jumping out of perfectly fine aircrafts

c600g

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: IDE freezing the OS
« Reply #49 on: November 07, 2019, 11:41:32 pm »
My install of Ubuntu 19.10 was a fresh one, with no gnome shell extensions present. :-s

Alan

dbannon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 788
    • tomboy-ng, a rewrite of the classic Tomboy
Re: IDE freezing the OS
« Reply #50 on: November 07, 2019, 11:49:10 pm »
Not wanting to rain on your parade, my test rig is a U1910 VM, clean install, updated as recommended. Only one extension manually installed, Applications Menu, I have removed it, logged out, logged in same issues.

Quote
Davo, coud you take a look here?
https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/gnome-shell/+bug/1834583

No, I don't think so. Thats a problem that crops up as a window closes, we see the lockup before any windows are displayed. It was reported to have been fixed in mutter (3.32.2+git20190711-2ubuntu1) and U1910 uses 3.34...

I 'think' but am not sure that mutter is only used with Wayland, that means Gnome-shell only right now. I can demo this problem on (eg) Mate Desktop too.

Davo
Lazarus 2, Linux (and reluctantly Win10, OSX)
My Project - https://github.com/tomboy-notes/tomboy-ng

dbannon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 788
    • tomboy-ng, a rewrite of the classic Tomboy
Re: IDE freezing the OS
« Reply #51 on: November 08, 2019, 07:48:53 am »
All right, here is a very back handed solution but it has passed my 15 starts in a row test, twice !  A version of Lazarus 206 built with QT5 instead of GTk2 ! 

Here is how, if starting from fresh install, see note below if you already have an install. By the way, this is how I always install Lazarus (apart from the Qt5 thing), you end up with a heap more usable system.

Building a QT5 version of Lazarus
1. sudo app Install fpc fpc-source <enter>   // 580meg,  see below if you already have a compiler installed.
2. sudo app install libqt5pas-dev    // ~49meg
3. sudo app install subversion <enter>  // ~10meg, for the svn command
4. mkdir -p bin/Lazarus; cd bin/Lazarus <enter>
5. svn checkout http://svn.freepascal.org/svn/lazarus/tags/lazarus_2_0_6 <enter>
6. cd lazarus_2_0_6 <enter>
7.  make bigide LCL_PLATFORM=qt5 <enter>

Notes
* If you already have a fpc installed, perhaps from the sourceforge repo, skip step 1. Indeed, if you already have a binary Lazarus install of any sort, please use your package manager (not rm) to remove it, will avoid a lot of confusion later on. But leave your fpc there, it does not matter which one you use as long as its 3.0.4
* Have a look at the wiki page, Installing Lazarus_on_Linux to see how to make menu entries and pretty icons.
* While your Lazarus IDE is using Qt5 widget set, it still defaults to producing gtk2 applications. And, obviously, can be used to make GTK3 or Qt5 ones if you so set it.
* If you distribute Qt5 binaries, don't forget that they will be dependent on libqt5pas1, just marking that as a dependency is enough, the package managers will pull down the other necessary libraries. That dependancy is worth 49Meg of disk, compare to GTK2.0 at 321Meg. Hmm....

If we find other people can confirm that this fixes their problem, it leaves me wondering if the issue is within Ubuntu's GTK2 kit. Frankly, I don't think they will be willing to put much effort into fixing it if that's the case ! Nasty.

Thank sash on the forum for putting this idea into my head.

Lazarus 2, Linux (and reluctantly Win10, OSX)
My Project - https://github.com/tomboy-notes/tomboy-ng

Zvoni

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 301
Re: IDE freezing the OS
« Reply #52 on: November 08, 2019, 08:02:40 am »
Not wanting to rain on your parade, my test rig is a U1910 VM, clean install, updated as recommended. Only one extension manually installed, Applications Menu, I have removed it, logged out, logged in same issues.

Quote
Davo, coud you take a look here?
https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/gnome-shell/+bug/1834583

No, I don't think so. Thats a problem that crops up as a window closes, we see the lockup before any windows are displayed. It was reported to have been fixed in mutter (3.32.2+git20190711-2ubuntu1) and U1910 uses 3.34...

I 'think' but am not sure that mutter is only used with Wayland, that means Gnome-shell only right now. I can demo this problem on (eg) Mate Desktop too.

Davo

Damn! You're right.
I just noticed everything working more smoothly after removing the extensions (more "fluid"), but then i started Lazarus, and for the heck of it, i wanted to recompile it to QT5-Interface, and BANG: Lock-Up.
after recovering (CTRL+ALT+F1), started Lazarus anew, Recompile to QT5, and it worked.
Will have to watch it now.
One System to rule them all, One IDE to find them,
One Code to bring them all, and to the Framework bind them,
in the Land of Redmond, where the Windows lie
---------------------------------------------------------------------
People call me crazy, because i'm jumping out of perfectly fine aircrafts

dbannon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 788
    • tomboy-ng, a rewrite of the classic Tomboy
Re: IDE freezing the OS
« Reply #53 on: November 08, 2019, 08:43:39 am »
I just built my tomboy-ng app, 14k lines of code plus KControls, all on a VM with 4gig ram and no fiddling with swap. I am starting to feel a bit confident.

I am not that sure I consider this a good solution but it is a solution !  And the "build lazarus from source" is always my preferred approach. But not looking forward to what I put on the wiki " .... unless you are using Ubuntu 19.10....".  I think we also need to log this in mantis too.

Davo
Lazarus 2, Linux (and reluctantly Win10, OSX)
My Project - https://github.com/tomboy-notes/tomboy-ng

tk

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 364
Re: IDE freezing the OS
« Reply #54 on: November 12, 2019, 04:02:43 pm »
Hi, experiencing the same freezes on my Ubuntu 19.10 vmdk.
How do I build Lazarus with Qt5 using fpcupdeluxe?
I installed fpc+laz using https://github.com/LongDirtyAnimAlf/fpcupdeluxe/releases/download/1.6.4d/fpcupdeluxe-x86_64-linux

The following does not work for me:
7.  make bigide LCL_PLATFORM=qt5 <enter>

Thanks

dbannon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 788
    • tomboy-ng, a rewrite of the classic Tomboy
Re: IDE freezing the OS
« Reply #55 on: November 13, 2019, 10:56:52 am »
Hi, experiencing the same freezes on my Ubuntu 19.10 vmdk.
How do I build Lazarus with Qt5 using fpcupdeluxe?
I installed fpc+laz using https://github.com/LongDirtyAnimAlf/fpcupdeluxe/releases/download/1.6.4d/fpcupdeluxe-x86_64-linux

The following does not work for me:
7.  make bigide LCL_PLATFORM=qt5 <enter>

Thanks
You might be confusing two approaches here TK, if you decide to use fpcupdeluxe you don't build the Qt5 version of Lazarus, however, I will be surprised (pleasantly so) if it avoids whatever this mystery problem in U1910.    If you want to build a Qt5 version, and indications are that does avoid the problem, you should download the source (using svn), install the Qt5 libraries, and then build with that command. Refer to wiki.

I guess it would be possible to build a Qt5 Lazarus from the source delivered by fpcupdeluxe but you would want to know what changes have been made ....

Davo
Lazarus 2, Linux (and reluctantly Win10, OSX)
My Project - https://github.com/tomboy-notes/tomboy-ng

Zvoni

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 301
Re: IDE freezing the OS
« Reply #56 on: November 13, 2019, 11:43:05 am »
Hi, experiencing the same freezes on my Ubuntu 19.10 vmdk.
How do I build Lazarus with Qt5 using fpcupdeluxe?
I installed fpc+laz using https://github.com/LongDirtyAnimAlf/fpcupdeluxe/releases/download/1.6.4d/fpcupdeluxe-x86_64-linux

The following does not work for me:
7.  make bigide LCL_PLATFORM=qt5 <enter>

Thanks
You might be confusing two approaches here TK, if you decide to use fpcupdeluxe you don't build the Qt5 version of Lazarus, however, I will be surprised (pleasantly so) if it avoids whatever this mystery problem in U1910.    If you want to build a Qt5 version, and indications are that does avoid the problem, you should download the source (using svn), install the Qt5 libraries, and then build with that command. Refer to wiki.

I guess it would be possible to build a Qt5 Lazarus from the source delivered by fpcupdeluxe but you would want to know what changes have been made ....

Davo
My FPC304/Laz206 is installed with fpcupdeluxe --> Standard-IDE gtk2 --> Freezes.
Start the gtk2-IDE (hope no freeze-up's), recompile IDE with widgetset QT5.
Done
One System to rule them all, One IDE to find them,
One Code to bring them all, and to the Framework bind them,
in the Land of Redmond, where the Windows lie
---------------------------------------------------------------------
People call me crazy, because i'm jumping out of perfectly fine aircrafts

c600g

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: IDE freezing the OS
« Reply #57 on: November 15, 2019, 12:47:26 am »
Hi, experiencing the same freezes on my Ubuntu 19.10 vmdk.
How do I build Lazarus with Qt5 using fpcupdeluxe?

I did it by downloading the following version of fpcupdeluxe:

fpcupdeluxe-x86_64-linux-qt5

Note that you'll need to have the Qt-dev libraries installed (qt5-dev package), as well as the libqt5pas1 and libqt5pas-dev packages for Ubuntu 19.10.

Alan

Zvoni

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 301
Re: IDE freezing the OS
« Reply #58 on: November 22, 2019, 11:35:35 am »
Not wanting to rain on your parade, my test rig is a U1910 VM, clean install, updated as recommended. Only one extension manually installed, Applications Menu, I have removed it, logged out, logged in same issues.

Quote
Davo, coud you take a look here?
https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/gnome-shell/+bug/1834583

No, I don't think so. Thats a problem that crops up as a window closes, we see the lockup before any windows are displayed. It was reported to have been fixed in mutter (3.32.2+git20190711-2ubuntu1) and U1910 uses 3.34...

I 'think' but am not sure that mutter is only used with Wayland, that means Gnome-shell only right now. I can demo this problem on (eg) Mate Desktop too.

Davo

Funny enough, when i ran Update on my Ubuntu-machine yesterday, i got updates for gir and mutter.....
Haven't tested for IDE-freezes with gtk2-IDE
One System to rule them all, One IDE to find them,
One Code to bring them all, and to the Framework bind them,
in the Land of Redmond, where the Windows lie
---------------------------------------------------------------------
People call me crazy, because i'm jumping out of perfectly fine aircrafts

xinyiman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1995
    • Lazarus and Free Pascal italian community
Re: IDE freezing the OS
« Reply #59 on: November 30, 2019, 11:29:39 pm »
Hi, I also have the same problem. Sometimes the Lazarus IDE and the programs that I compile with lazarus at startup send the graphic environment into freeze. Has anyone solved it ?!
Win10, Ubuntu and Mac
Lazarus: 2.1.0
FPC: 3.3.1