Recent

Author Topic: IDE freezing the OS  (Read 7065 times)

gii

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 31
Re: IDE freezing the OS
« Reply #15 on: November 01, 2019, 03:03:25 am »
Unfortunately, the problem remains.

I ran the command "sudo apt install libcanberra-gtk-module libcanberra-gtk3-module", but the problem persists.

During freezing, I pressed <Ctrl> <Alt> <F1> and the system responded. But if I log in again, everything will remain frozen. If you try to shut down or restart your computer at the lock screen, nothing happens.

Sometimes I can use the IDE normally (for a few seconds / minutes), sometimes the IDE doesn't work correctly, where I click it resizes the code editor.

The "top" command as requested.

https://i.imgur.com/qwvpOt4.png

gii

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 31
Re: IDE freezing the OS
« Reply #16 on: November 01, 2019, 03:08:36 am »
Someone had commented about checking the "Ubuntu with Wayland" option, I did that, and in this mode the IDE works perfectly.

dbannon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 832
    • tomboy-ng, a rewrite of the classic Tomboy
Re: IDE freezing the OS
« Reply #17 on: November 01, 2019, 05:23:17 am »
Ha Ha, my advice was uncheck Ubuntu on Wayland, I was certain it would be bad for you if you were using Wayland ! I blame Wayland for many of the World's ills. Embola, reality TV, climate change.....

But you had to go and mess up my theory !   :D

Why on earth would it work on Wayland but not tried and tested Xorg ?? No idea.

That picture of top you took, was that while the GUI was locked up or after it became usable again ?

It appears Gnome-Shell was working hard but not hard enough to explain a lock up. Lazarus was just sitting by watching ....

What sort of machine are you running on ? One with more than one core I expect ?

Davo
Lazarus 2, Linux (and reluctantly Win10, OSX)
My Project - https://github.com/tomboy-notes/tomboy-ng

gii

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 31
Re: IDE freezing the OS
« Reply #18 on: November 01, 2019, 02:05:29 pm »
I have only options with and without Wayland.

I own an i7-5500U 2.40 GHz.

I took the screenshot, and the system froze.

c600g

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: IDE freezing the OS
« Reply #19 on: November 01, 2019, 04:12:00 pm »
I am having the same issue with Ubuntu 19.10 and Lazarus 2.0.6. No matter which display server I choose to use (X or Wayland), Lazarus 2.0.6 freezes on startup and takes down the entire desktop environment with it. I have to switch to a text virtual console and reboot from there.

I've just used fpcupdeluxe to install fpc fixes3.0 and Lazarus fixes2.0 (Qt5 interface) and it seems to work so far.

Alan

Zvoni

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 306
Re: IDE freezing the OS
« Reply #20 on: November 01, 2019, 08:11:58 pm »
By any chance: Does anyone of you use nvidia-drivers?
One System to rule them all, One IDE to find them,
One Code to bring them all, and to the Framework bind them,
in the Land of Redmond, where the Windows lie
---------------------------------------------------------------------
People call me crazy, because i'm jumping out of perfectly fine aircrafts

gii

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 31
Re: IDE freezing the OS
« Reply #21 on: November 01, 2019, 10:00:49 pm »
My video card is an AMD R7 M265.

dbannon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 832
    • tomboy-ng, a rewrite of the classic Tomboy
Re: IDE freezing the OS
« Reply #22 on: November 01, 2019, 11:17:30 pm »
So you can reasonably easily add another desktop to your existing install. At present you are using either Gnome or Gnome on Wayland.  I'd suggest something like Mate or XFce, both are very lightweight, not too much to download and not too much disk space taken up.

Once installed, they add an extra item in that list that you see under the gear symbol, if you don't select it, it has no effect on your system other than a bit of extra disk eaten up.

sudo apt install mate-desktop-environment-core <enter>

or

sudo apt install xfce <enter>

If you want something a bit 'richer' look at Plasma or Cinnamon perhaps ?

When running these desktops, your system will look quite different but you will have little trouble figuring out what you need to do. But in gii's case at least, maybe you are happy using just gnome on wayland ? Your call.  But 'we' do need to figure out whats happening here ....

Davo


Lazarus 2, Linux (and reluctantly Win10, OSX)
My Project - https://github.com/tomboy-notes/tomboy-ng

gii

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 31
Re: IDE freezing the OS
« Reply #23 on: November 01, 2019, 11:45:46 pm »
I have full interest in solving the problem.

For now, I'll keep developing on Windows 10.

If anyone needs me to perform a test, or pass some information, I will be available.

lainz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3395
    • Lainz
Re: IDE freezing the OS
« Reply #24 on: November 02, 2019, 01:46:16 am »
Someone had commented about checking the "Ubuntu with Wayland" option, I did that, and in this mode the IDE works perfectly.

How I can change that, when Installing ubuntu I checked automatic login, and now I don't see that gear to change the desktop mode...

dbannon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 832
    • tomboy-ng, a rewrite of the classic Tomboy
Re: IDE freezing the OS
« Reply #25 on: November 02, 2019, 04:12:58 am »
Ian, if you logout, not poweroff, you should get to the login screen. I think.  Or maybe it will still skip that step in which case you will need to go into the setting and reverse that decision to do "automatic login".

(as an old sysadmin, shocked at the idea of an auto login, sigh ....)

 :)

Davo
Lazarus 2, Linux (and reluctantly Win10, OSX)
My Project - https://github.com/tomboy-notes/tomboy-ng

Zvoni

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 306
Re: IDE freezing the OS
« Reply #26 on: November 02, 2019, 08:35:31 am »
Someone had commented about checking the "Ubuntu with Wayland" option, I did that, and in this mode the IDE works perfectly.

How I can change that, when Installing ubuntu I checked automatic login, and now I don't see that gear to change the desktop mode...

Settings - Information - User
Unlock your user - uncheck Auto-Login
One System to rule them all, One IDE to find them,
One Code to bring them all, and to the Framework bind them,
in the Land of Redmond, where the Windows lie
---------------------------------------------------------------------
People call me crazy, because i'm jumping out of perfectly fine aircrafts

Zvoni

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 306
Re: IDE freezing the OS
« Reply #27 on: November 02, 2019, 08:40:40 am »
Something else i noticed on my Ubuntu19.10:
The Desktop (System) freezes as described above when trying to open Textfiles with gedit which are reasonably big in size.
Haven't tried with nano (or any other editor). Since the Texteditor is a big part of the IDE it might be that (at least under Gnome).
Also haven't tried other WM's
One System to rule them all, One IDE to find them,
One Code to bring them all, and to the Framework bind them,
in the Land of Redmond, where the Windows lie
---------------------------------------------------------------------
People call me crazy, because i'm jumping out of perfectly fine aircrafts

circular

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3074
    • Personal webpage
Re: IDE freezing the OS
« Reply #28 on: November 02, 2019, 11:08:15 am »
I've just used fpcupdeluxe to install fpc fixes3.0 and Lazarus fixes2.0 (Qt5 interface) and it seems to work so far.
.
I wonder if it is version 2.0 that works better or Qt5.
Conscience is the debugger of the mind

dbannon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 832
    • tomboy-ng, a rewrite of the classic Tomboy
Re: IDE freezing the OS
« Reply #29 on: November 03, 2019, 09:21:08 am »
OK, I can confirm this freeze up happens on a VM running 19.10. But not every time I start Lazarus, sometimes it starts and continues to run normally. My rough guess is that it fails, for me, on a Virtual Box allocated 4G ram one in four times. Using Lazarus 2.0.6 debs from sourceforge.

I have seen four such freezups now, in each case an initial startup, have not seen it happen in a restart. I blow away the config files between tries to ensure an initial start.

(I have been running Fedora 30 in a VM for a week now without any sign of this issue, about the same level of gnome and release time, that may indicate the freeze up is a Ubuntu only thing ?)

Davo

Davo
Lazarus 2, Linux (and reluctantly Win10, OSX)
My Project - https://github.com/tomboy-notes/tomboy-ng