Recent

Author Topic: Does Cocoa use any Carbon code?  (Read 836 times)

trev

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1272
  • Former Delphi 1-7, 10.2 User
Does Cocoa use any Carbon code?
« on: August 15, 2019, 12:26:09 am »
I ask because of SelectDirectory and TSelectDirectoryDialog being silently ignored on Catalina after framework "thinning" (ie removal of 32 bit).

For details see:  https://forum.lazarus.freepascal.org/index.php/topic,46387.0.html
Lazarus 2.1 r64368 FPC 3.3.1 r48100 macOS 10.14.6 Xcode 11.3.1
Lazarus 2.1 r64455 3.3.1 r48688  macOS 11.2 aarch64 Xcode 12.4
Lazarus 2.1 r61574 3.3.1 r42318 FreeBSD 12.1 amd64 VMware VM
Lazarus 2.1 r61574 3.0.4 Ubuntu 20.04 Parallels VM
Lazarus 2.0.10 3.2.0 Win10 Parallels VM

skalogryz

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2560
    • havefunsoft.com
Re: Does Cocoa use any Carbon code?
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2019, 02:32:21 am »
Carbon API is not really used  (except for HIRanges... or so... but these are graphics)

the reason on why a dialog won't open is probably due to this error:
Quote
2019-08-14 20:30:48.516 project1[2053:31333] +[NSXPCSharedListener endpointForReply:withListenerName:]: an error occurred while attempting to obtain endpoint for listener 'com.apple.view-bridge': Connection interrupted
(the error is produced, even if the following code is used:
Code: [Select]
NSOpenPanel.openPanel.runModal;which is a minimal ObjC to run a file dialog)

Whatever "carbon" reference is used within Apple frameworks, is out of LCL control
« Last Edit: August 15, 2019, 02:34:31 am by skalogryz »
Patron Cocoa Widgetset development https://www.patreon.com/skalogryz

skalogryz

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2560
    • havefunsoft.com
Re: Does Cocoa use any Carbon code?
« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2019, 04:37:49 am »
try to code-sign the project.
Patron Cocoa Widgetset development https://www.patreon.com/skalogryz

trev

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1272
  • Former Delphi 1-7, 10.2 User
Re: Does Cocoa use any Carbon code?
« Reply #3 on: August 20, 2019, 10:47:17 am »
Beta 6 resolved the issue :)
Lazarus 2.1 r64368 FPC 3.3.1 r48100 macOS 10.14.6 Xcode 11.3.1
Lazarus 2.1 r64455 3.3.1 r48688  macOS 11.2 aarch64 Xcode 12.4
Lazarus 2.1 r61574 3.3.1 r42318 FreeBSD 12.1 amd64 VMware VM
Lazarus 2.1 r61574 3.0.4 Ubuntu 20.04 Parallels VM
Lazarus 2.0.10 3.2.0 Win10 Parallels VM

skalogryz

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2560
    • havefunsoft.com
Re: Does Cocoa use any Carbon code?
« Reply #4 on: August 20, 2019, 04:57:55 pm »
Beta 6 resolved the issue :)
phew! that was close!
Patron Cocoa Widgetset development https://www.patreon.com/skalogryz

 

TinyPortal © 2005-2018