Recent

Author Topic: General other OS question  (Read 3415 times)

dLm

General other OS question
« on: October 10, 2023, 06:07:39 pm »
I am new to pascal and Lazarus. Generally speaking how hard is it to optimize a windows program to run on android/iphone ?

Thaddy

• Sensorship about opinions does not belong here.
Re: General other OS question
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2023, 07:03:15 pm »
Very hard... It is a bit of an exception.
Object Pascal programmers should get rid of their "component fetish" especially with the non-visuals.

Handoko

• My goal: build my own game engine using Lazarus
« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2023, 07:11:18 pm »
Hello dLm,
Welcome to the forum.

Basically it is not hard to rewrite a Windows program to target Android platform if:
- You are the programmer who wrote that Windows program
- The program does not use any Windows specific commands/libraries
- You ever write multi-platforms programs

Reasons that I said it is not hard:
Pascal is relatively easy to learn, if you can write programs in other languages you should not have problem learning Pascal. Lazarus is very powerful IDE for rapid application development (RAD). To be able to develop programs to run on Android, you can use Lazarus Android Module Wizard (LAMW). LAMW integrates nicely into Lazarus. Although you cannot use the default visual components provided by Lazarus, LAMW offers its alternative visual components, which are relatively easy to use.

But it is not fair if I do not tell you the disadvantages of using Lazarus:
Pascal is quite verbose. I heard some users complained about Pascal, one even abandoned it because he could type less in C++. The documentation of Pascal is well written unfortunately the documentation of Lazarus needs some improvements.

If you interested to see Lazarus short demos, you can download them here:
https://wiki.freepascal.org/Portal:HowTo_Demos