Recent

Author Topic: Listing text files, and opening them in another pane when clicked  (Read 1072 times)

Flight714

Hi all,

I'm a beginner with FP and Lazarus but am heartened that my first basic app worked, just a Hello World really  :D

What I'm looking to do is immediately start on an app that would be useful for me. It would do the following:

• Show a list of text files on the left (*.md Markdown format)
  • When one file is clicked, it is displayed on the right, for reading
  • Nice to have: Show sub-folders / allow navigation of files in the left side
  • Nice to have: Show an "edit" button on the right that opens the selected file in third-party editing software.

So far I am searching the forums for little tidbits of information. It has been a long time since I used Pascal, but I have done a reasonable amount of programming in other languages.

Any tips on which components to use for this, and where to look to learn about them, would be much appreciated. Thank you.

lucamar

Re: Listing text files, and opening them in another pane when clicked
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2019, 05:03:37 am »
That would be just a TFileListBox or TShellTreeView to select files, a TMemo to view (or edit) them and a TButton+TProcess to launch an external editor. Fairly easy: You can have a prototype running in a few an hour.

ETA: You meant something like the attached image, didn't you? (Just a Q&D demo, won't attach the code) :)
« Last Edit: July 25, 2019, 05:56:45 am by lucamar »
Turbo Pascal 3 CP/M - Amstrad PCW 8256 (512 KB !!!) :P
Lazarus/FPC 2.0.8/3.0.4 & 2.0.12/3.2.0 - 32/64 bits on:
(K|L|X)Ubuntu 12..18, Windows XP, 7, 10 and various DOSes.

Flight714

« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2019, 06:17:41 am »
That's very helpful, thank you. Neat to see the image as well. I was surprised to draw the TFileListBox component and see a list of files from my home directory appear.  :o :D