Recent

Author Topic: Something A Miss with the debugger.  (Read 427 times)

JLWest

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 612
Something A Miss with the debugger.
« on: July 16, 2019, 06:46:57 pm »
Recently downloaded the latest version of the IDE.

It seemed to work Ok for a while. Then all of a sudden the debugger won't work.

I compile my program just fine.
Run without the debugger fine.
When I try to run in the debugger it goes to the begin statement in the project1.lpr file.

IF i try to F9 out it won't go. F7 brings up the Assembler box.

Any ideas?
FPC 3.2.0, Lazarus IDE v2.0.4
 Windows 10 Pro 32-GB
 Intel i7 770K CPU 4.2GHz 32702MB Ram
GeForce GTX 1080 Graphics - 8 Gig
4.1 TB

Martin_fr

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5795
    • wiki
Re: Something A Miss with the debugger.
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2019, 10:05:47 pm »
Can you provide a log? https://wiki.lazarus.freepascal.org/GDB_Debugger_Tips#Log_info_for_debug_session

You may play with the value for "InternalStartBreak", in the property grid => Tools > Options > Debugger

You can also go to our sourceforge page, and under "windows 64" (or 32 if you need) > "Alternative GDB" get GDB 8.2

JLWest

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 612
Re: Something A Miss with the debugger.
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2019, 12:24:58 am »
Wow
You can actually read the results?
FPC 3.2.0, Lazarus IDE v2.0.4
 Windows 10 Pro 32-GB
 Intel i7 770K CPU 4.2GHz 32702MB Ram
GeForce GTX 1080 Graphics - 8 Gig
4.1 TB

Martin_fr

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5795
    • wiki
Re: Something A Miss with the debugger.
« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2019, 02:31:33 am »
Wow
You can actually read the results?
Read, and even comprehend (in parts at least). Though it is always tricky.
My best guess on your log:

You may have a breakpoint, that you cant see (breakpoint set to an address / might show in the asm win, if you open that right away, before tryineg F7). This could also be seen in the breakpoint window: View > Debug Windows > Breakpoints.
This would explain the early stop/break of your app.

The attached log seems to end when you reached this halt. It does not seem to contain any attempt of continuing with F9/F7?
But it may simply be that the breakpoint is in some code that is called hundreds of times. So F9 would just take you back to it.




JLWest

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 612
Re: Something A Miss with the debugger.
« Reply #4 on: July 17, 2019, 04:05:19 am »
Your best guess was pretty good. I deleted the breakpoints <View>Debug>Breakpoints and the debugger now works.

Thanks for your help.



FPC 3.2.0, Lazarus IDE v2.0.4
 Windows 10 Pro 32-GB
 Intel i7 770K CPU 4.2GHz 32702MB Ram
GeForce GTX 1080 Graphics - 8 Gig
4.1 TB