Recent

Author Topic: Lazarus breaks translations  (Read 652 times)

lainz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3219
    • Lainz
Lazarus breaks translations
« on: July 04, 2019, 04:34:21 pm »
Hi, I work with several projects and in all of them trunk Lazarus when updates Po files it removes the translations. Seems that patching of Po files is not working.

Anyone can confirm? Thanks.

circular

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2957
    • Personal webpage
Re: Lazarus breaks translations
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2019, 05:02:45 pm »
Same happens with Lazarus v2.0

Entries in the po files are deleted. Though they are still used by the program when running.
Conscience is the debugger of the mind

lainz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3219
    • Lainz
Re: Lazarus breaks translations
« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2019, 01:46:55 am »
Thanks, it should be reported to bugtracker, but I need to create a test application, I don't know if they will accept LazPaint, I think they should, since is a full application that shows the problem of removed translations  :)

circular

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2957
    • Personal webpage
Re: Lazarus breaks translations
« Reply #3 on: July 05, 2019, 02:51:14 am »
Indeed it is a case study.

How would you make a test app? Create it with older Lazarus?
Conscience is the debugger of the mind

valdir.marcos

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 818
Re: Lazarus breaks translations
« Reply #4 on: July 05, 2019, 02:57:40 am »
Thanks, it should be reported to bugtracker, but I need to create a test application, I don't know if they will accept LazPaint, I think they should, since is a full application that shows the problem of removed translations  :)
Not likely, they'll complain LazPaint is too complex to be debugged for such a single feature error.
I think you should create a simple small sample that shows the regression between older and newer versions of Lazarus.

lucamar

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2012
Re: Lazarus breaks translations
« Reply #5 on: July 05, 2019, 03:02:03 am »
[...] I think they should, since is a full application that shows the problem of removed translations  :)

Rather too full for an example, isn't it :D
Turbo Pascal 3 CP/M - Amstrad PCW 8256 (512 KB !!!) :P
Lazarus 2.0.2/2.0.4  - FPC 3.0.4 on:
(K|L)Ubuntu 12..16, Windows XP SP3, various DOSes.

circular

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2957
    • Personal webpage
Re: Lazarus breaks translations
« Reply #6 on: July 08, 2019, 11:23:35 am »
For now I installed a version 1.8.4 of Lazarus and updated the language files by compiling.
Conscience is the debugger of the mind

Thaddy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8858
Re: Lazarus breaks translations
« Reply #7 on: July 08, 2019, 02:58:10 pm »
Maybe this is the age old issue that the translations need a FULL rebuild first? (fpc -B , not a simple compile, but a full build)
I would not be surprised, because I get bitten by that every so often...
Most people that want to use threading should learn to patch their jeans first: use a needle.

lainz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3219
    • Lainz
Re: Lazarus breaks translations
« Reply #8 on: July 08, 2019, 07:30:12 pm »
Maybe this is the age old issue that the translations need a FULL rebuild first? (fpc -B , not a simple compile, but a full build)
I would not be surprised, because I get bitten by that every so often...

I know that a full build is needed to generate all the forms and resourcestrings into the po file. But when doing a normal build hitting the play button the IDE must not remove translations from the .po file.

circular

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2957
    • Personal webpage
Re: Lazarus breaks translations
« Reply #9 on: July 08, 2019, 09:27:35 pm »
Indeed, we are talking about entries being removed from the po file. That should not happen.
Conscience is the debugger of the mind