Recent

Author Topic: New Lazuras IDE  (Read 1201 times)

JLWest

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 568
New Lazuras IDE
« on: May 31, 2019, 01:41:52 am »
Code: Pascal  [Select]
  1.  procedure TForm1.FormCreate(Sender: TObject);
  2.   var valid : boolean;
  3.       Loc : String = '';
  4.       FileName :String;
  5.   begin
  6.    Loc := ProgramDirectory;
  7.    FileName := Loc + 'apt.txt';
  8.    valid := fileexists(C_AptDotDat);
  9.    ListBox1.Clear;
  10.    ListBox1a.Clear;
  11.    ListBox2.Clear;
  12.    ListBox3.Clear;
  13.    ListBox4.Clear;
  14.    ListBox5.Clear;
  15.    ListBox6.Clear;
  16.    LoadAllListBoxes;
  17.    ListBox7.Clear;
  18.   end;                    

This is what Line 6 returns.
'X:\A Current Project\Mast###(gdb unparsed remainder:...)###'
This started after I installed Lazuras ver 2.0.2
JLWEST
Lazuras ver 2.0.2 
 FPC 3.0.4, Lazarus IDE v1.8.2 Windows 10 Pro
 Intel i7 770K CPU 4.2GHz 32702MB Ram
GeForce GTX 1080 Graphics - 8 Gig
3952 GB (1.5 SSD)

RAW

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 794
Re: New Lazuras IDE
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2019, 03:03:20 am »
??? Are you searching for Application.Location ???
Windows 7 Pro (x64 Sp1) And Windows XP Pro (x86 Sp3) - LAZARUS 2.0.4 FPC 3.0.4 - TRUNK 2.1.0 FPC 3.3.1

JLWest

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 568
Re: New Lazuras IDE
« Reply #2 on: May 31, 2019, 03:34:05 am »
Yes and under the debugger it returns the following:

'X:\A Current Project\Mast###(gdb unparsed remainder:...)###'

with all the trash after X:\A Current Project\Mast i.e ###(gdb unparsed remainder:...)###
JLWEST
Lazuras ver 2.0.2 
 FPC 3.0.4, Lazarus IDE v1.8.2 Windows 10 Pro
 Intel i7 770K CPU 4.2GHz 32702MB Ram
GeForce GTX 1080 Graphics - 8 Gig
3952 GB (1.5 SSD)

RAW

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 794
Re: New Lazuras IDE
« Reply #3 on: May 31, 2019, 04:07:17 am »
No problem here ...  :)

Edit: OK, I see it now ... LOCAL VARIABLES
Did you check if there is already a bug report?

by the way: use WATCHES instead ...  :D
« Last Edit: May 31, 2019, 04:39:49 am by RAW »
Windows 7 Pro (x64 Sp1) And Windows XP Pro (x86 Sp3) - LAZARUS 2.0.4 FPC 3.0.4 - TRUNK 2.1.0 FPC 3.3.1

Martin_fr

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5576
    • wiki
Re: New Lazuras IDE
« Reply #4 on: May 31, 2019, 09:15:29 am »
GDB believes the string is an array.
Therefore the following setting applies (Tools > Option > Debugger > [property grid]: MaxLocalsLengthForStaticArray

This setting is 25 by default, because normally the "Locals" window, is hardly ever big enough to even show more than 10 elements.

I wasn't aware that this affects strings. So maybe the default needs to increase.
But that then opens up another issue (for which this was meant to be a fix):
  Array[0..10000] of TBigRecord;
Will print n elements of TBigRecord => which can be seriously slow. And the local window has no option to exclude any local var.
This also affects the Stack window.
And both are evaluated even if closed, which means people may have to wait serious time before they can continue stepping.

Whats the typical width of your Locals windows?
Mine would typically be width enough to show the first 80 to 90 chars. So setting the default to 100 should cover most cases.

I know 100 is still very small for strings, but can already lead to very serious slow downs.
Ideally the local window needs some interactive feature, allowing to fetch the remainder.

JLWest

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 568
Re: New Lazuras IDE
« Reply #5 on: May 31, 2019, 09:24:23 am »
@Martin_fr

Is this something new in 2.0.2. I didn't have this in the previous IDE.

Is there a way to go back to the previous version of the IDE?
I just downloaded the2.0.2 and started using it. Should I be doing something more. Configuration or setup or something?

I'll change the setting and  see if that helps.

Thanks for your help.

JLWEST
Lazuras ver 2.0.2 
 FPC 3.0.4, Lazarus IDE v1.8.2 Windows 10 Pro
 Intel i7 770K CPU 4.2GHz 32702MB Ram
GeForce GTX 1080 Graphics - 8 Gig
3952 GB (1.5 SSD)

Martin_fr

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5576
    • wiki
Re: New Lazuras IDE
« Reply #6 on: May 31, 2019, 09:53:20 am »
Not sure in which version exactly it was added:

But this can be configured: Tools > Option > Debugger > [property grid]: MaxLocalsLengthForStaticArray

Default is 25. You can set it to as high as you want.

jamie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1925
Re: New Lazuras IDE
« Reply #7 on: May 31, 2019, 01:05:33 pm »
why not use the already provided string for this purpose ?

Application.Location


Martin_fr

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5576
    • wiki
Re: New Lazuras IDE
« Reply #8 on: May 31, 2019, 01:29:27 pm »
Just note: The value shown by the debugger, is "cut off" (and appended "gdb unparsed ...")

The real value is different.
The setting I mentioned will enable the debugger to show the actual value.

JLWest

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 568
Re: New Lazuras IDE
« Reply #9 on: June 11, 2019, 05:44:03 am »
I got this same issue again.  '\Mast###(gdb unparsed remainder:...)###'

I had made the change in setting:
Tools >Options>Debugger>General>MaxLocalLengthForLocalArray = 80

and the issue went away for a while.

So I went back to: Tools >Options>Debugger>General>MaxLocalLengthForLocalArray = 25
and it was set to 25?

I didn't change it, download a new IDE or even go back into Tools.

So I changed it back to 80 and the issue went away.

Seems to me to be a Bug or maybe it a new feature say 'Soft configuration'.

JLWEST
Lazuras ver 2.0.2 
 FPC 3.0.4, Lazarus IDE v1.8.2 Windows 10 Pro
 Intel i7 770K CPU 4.2GHz 32702MB Ram
GeForce GTX 1080 Graphics - 8 Gig
3952 GB (1.5 SSD)

Martin_fr

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5576
    • wiki
Re: New Lazuras IDE
« Reply #10 on: June 11, 2019, 11:07:11 am »
I observed that with other settings, that got lost.... But I was never able to reproduce it. Which means I have no way to fix it.

My assumption is/was (but again, I was not able to reproduce) that it may happen if you change the "debugger type"
Did you try any other debugger type? (eg gdb server, or fpdebug?)

JLWest

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 568
Re: New Lazuras IDE
« Reply #11 on: June 11, 2019, 06:35:57 pm »
No I sisn't try any other debugger type.
JLWEST
Lazuras ver 2.0.2 
 FPC 3.0.4, Lazarus IDE v1.8.2 Windows 10 Pro
 Intel i7 770K CPU 4.2GHz 32702MB Ram
GeForce GTX 1080 Graphics - 8 Gig
3952 GB (1.5 SSD)