Recent

Author Topic: Lazurus vs CodeTyphoon for cross-compiling GUI applications?  (Read 8844 times)

Wysardry

I am new to Pascal, but would like to be able to create GUI desktop applications using FreePascal on Windows 10 and compile them for multiple platforms without needing to jump through too many hoops.

Would Lazurus or CodeTyphoon be the best IDE for this?

VTwin

• Former Turbo Pascal 3 user
Re: Lazurus vs CodeTyphoon for cross-compiling GUI applications?
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2019, 02:03:43 am »
Lazarus.

Edit: Lainz gave a good answer. Windows, Macintosh, and Linux are quite straightforward. Macintosh does have a few bumps, but is in good shape and rapidly improving.

I personally do not use fpcupdeluxe or cross compile. I use a Macintosh with Windows and Linux on VirtualBox. For me that works well.
« Last Edit: May 15, 2019, 02:17:39 am by VTwin »
“Talk is cheap. Show me the code.” -Linus Torvalds

Free Pascal Compiler 3.2.2
macOS 12.1: Lazarus 2.2.6 (64 bit Cocoa M1)
Ubuntu 18.04.3: Lazarus 2.2.6 (64 bit on VBox)
Windows 7 Pro SP1: Lazarus 2.2.6 (64 bit on VBox)

lainz

• https://lainz.github.io/
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2019, 02:04:37 am »
With Lazarus will be ok. CodeTyphoon is a fork of Lazarus.

I recommend installing with fpcupdeluxe and install cross compilers. You still need Mac or Linux to test your applications in these OS.

Build modes are easy to create to add different targets to the same Lazarus project. You can target by OS and bitness for example. As well by LCL widgetset.

Or you can try pas2js and make a web app that's already cross platform.

Wysardry

« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2019, 02:51:23 am »
Thanks. I was leaning towards Lazurus anyway, as it has been around longer.

I was just unsure whether CodeTyphoon was better suited for cross-compiling as it seems to be set up for that out of the box.

Martin_fr

• Administrator
  • Debugger - SynEdit - and more
    • wiki
« Reply #4 on: May 15, 2019, 03:11:39 am »