Recent

Author Topic: .res files  (Read 10633 times)

andre72

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 33
.res files
« on: October 29, 2007, 04:13:58 pm »
I find that I have resource file directive in one project:
{$I cards.res}

On the other hand, I do not have any .res files in two other project.

I do not remember having tried to build any .res file, and I find that I can remove the directive and that there is no apparent change in the application.

Can anyone please tell me how it go there and what it is supposed to do?

Thanks

A.

Leledumbo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8103
  • Programming + Glam Metal + Tae Kwon Do = Me
RE: .res files
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2007, 09:08:35 am »
Decompile it and see the contents. Probably you just forget about it.

andre72

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 33
Re: RE: .res files
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2007, 09:43:07 am »
Quote from: "Leledumbo"
Decompile it and see the contents. Probably you just forget about it.


Thanks, but how do you decompile?
As far as I know, this file just "appeared". I did not put it there myself.

Thanks

A.

Leledumbo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8103
  • Programming + Glam Metal + Tae Kwon Do = Me
RE: Re: RE: .res files
« Reply #3 on: October 30, 2007, 11:44:18 am »
Use Resource Hacker. Hmm... the only .res file that Lazarus will create is the manifest.res. But only if you check use manifest in project options.

andre72

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 33
Re: RE: Re: RE: .res files
« Reply #4 on: October 30, 2007, 03:24:46 pm »
Thanks for ResourceHacker - most interesting.

In Lazarus 0.9.22 (Windows):

I find the <ProjectName.res> file contains only version info.
The {$I <ProjectName.res>} directive is added and the file created as soon as you check the "Project Options/Version Info/Include Version Info in Executable" check-box.

BTW, I did not find "use manifest" in project options....

Thank you for your help

A.

Leledumbo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8103
  • Programming + Glam Metal + Tae Kwon Do = Me
RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: .res files
« Reply #5 on: October 31, 2007, 07:14:30 am »
I'm using the latest snapshot, always since 0.9.22 has too many bugs. I don't remember, but maybe in 0.9.22 that option is not yet added until 0.9.23.[/img]

andre72

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 33
Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: .res files
« Reply #6 on: October 31, 2007, 06:56:45 pm »
Quote from: "Leledumbo"
I'm using the latest snapshot, always since 0.9.22 has too many bugs. [/img]


Following your lead, I downloaded the latest 0.9.23 beta rev 12655. I can see the "use manifest" option. maybe I just missed it before.

What is surprising is that one project (OK under 0.9.22) is correctly compiled and linked (project successfully built) then halts repeatedly, to ask for an include file (objpas,inc, setjump.inc, lists.inc except.inc etc).

I can find each .inc file then add its path manually, but that's not the point:  it never happend before, all the other apps have been running without requesting any .inc files.

The project and compiler settings appear to be the same. Do you have an idea as to what is the problem?

Thanks again for Resource Hacker - it's pretty cool.

Regards

A.

Leledumbo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8103
  • Programming + Glam Metal + Tae Kwon Do = Me
RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: .res files
« Reply #7 on: November 01, 2007, 04:58:42 am »
Are you sure it's correctly compiled and linked? How could it ask for an include file then? Try to "copy all and hidden messages" from the messages tab. Those asked incs belongs to fpc rtl, so there might be version conflict in your machine. Try uninstalling everything before installing the new one, overwriting isn't a good idea since some units have their name changed.

Marc

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2496
RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: .res files
« Reply #8 on: November 01, 2007, 11:27:18 am »
if it correctly build, then those messages are probably from the debugger when it wants to show some source.

Are you debugging ?
//--
{$I stdsig.inc}
//-I still can't read someones mind
//-Bugs reported here will be forgotten. Use the bug tracker

andre72

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 33
RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: .res files
« Reply #9 on: November 01, 2007, 12:35:09 pm »
I just found out what it was.

I had a ShowMessage in the main form FormShow. In 0.9.22, the message comes up _after_ the form is painted on screen. In 0.9.23, it comes up _before_ the form is shown, and actually hides behind the IDE, so the application appears to hang, with strange things happening if you try to step through.

Thanks for your help

A.

Paul Ishenin

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 274
RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: .res files
« Reply #10 on: November 01, 2007, 05:16:54 pm »
We changed things to be consistent with Delphi. In upcoming 0.9.23 OnShow is called before actual show as in Delphi.