Recent

Author Topic: SIGSEGV - yet another one.  (Read 9291 times)

aljones

SIGSEGV - yet another one.
« on: November 26, 2018, 12:46:31 am »
I think I see the problem but don't know why it's occurring nor how to fix it.  Let's get the 'required stuff' out of the way, first.

Lazarus: 1.8.4
FPC Version: 3.0.4

Windows 10 build 17134

Code: Pascal  [Select][+][-]
  1. program project1;
  3. {$mode objfpc}{$H+}
  5. uses
  6.   {$IFDEF UNIX}{$IFDEF UseCThreads}
  7.   cthreads,
  8.   {$ENDIF}{$ENDIF}
  9.   Classes
  10.   { you can add units after this };
  12. begin
  13.   writeln('Test');
  14.   readln;
  15. end.

I'm new to Pascal, let's face it, I'm 70+ and bored!  I'm also a programmer who's worked in C, BASIC (god the varieties of BASIC), FORTRAN, COBOL, RPG (Ugh!!)  I've been playing with MS Visual Basic but wanted a little variety and something that would cross system boundaries (Apple, Windows, etc)

Symptoms:  Though this is a nothing program, it appear to run one time (F9) then results in "Project raised exception class 'External: SIGSEGV"
Attempting to close the open DOS windows asks if I want to terminate debugging?  So obviously the program run by the debugger hasn't ended.

To be more exact:
__F9
__Dos Box Opens
__Press Return (respond to readln)
__Exception Raised (click OK)
__Assembler appears with Binary 0 contents
__Close the DOS window

If I run it without debugging it runs and terminates successfully.

I thought I'd run through the School Free Ware course ... but I can't get past lesson one!  Any help or suggestions for an old novice would be appreciated.
//al
« Last Edit: November 26, 2018, 07:45:17 pm by aljones »

lucamar

Re: SIGSEGV - yet another one.
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2018, 01:00:10 am »