Bookstore

Recent

Author Topic: Lazarus Release Candidate 2 for 2.0  (Read 47216 times)

jc99

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 539
    • My private Site
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 2 for 2.0
« Reply #45 on: November 10, 2018, 07:55:33 pm »
About the speed of the designer painting, have you tried in the options to set "reduced designer painting"?
Wow, that helped a lot. Thanks.
OS: Win XP x64, Win 7, Win 7 x64, Win 10, Win 10 x64, Suse Linux 13.2
Laz: 1.4 - 1.8.4, 2.0
https://github.com/joecare99/public
'~|    /''
,_|oe \_,are
If you want to do something for the environment: Twitter: #reduceCO2 or
https://www.betterplace.me/klimawandel-stoppen-co-ueber-preis-reduzieren

jujibo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 77
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 2 for 2.0
« Reply #46 on: November 10, 2018, 08:30:40 pm »
Lazarus fixes 2.0 compilation is broken. Rev 59507

FreePascal-3.0.5/lazarus-2.0.fixes/lazarus/ide/lazarus.pp(78,5) Fatal: (10022) Can't find unit LazDebuggerFpLldb used by Lazarus
Fatal: (1018) Compilation aborted

Working Copy Root Path: /home/xxxx/FreePascal-3.0.5/lazarus-2.0.fixes/lazarus
URL: https://svn.freepascal.org/svn/lazarus/branches/fixes_2_0
Relative URL: ^/branches/fixes_2_0
Raíz del repositorio: https://svn.freepascal.org/svn/lazarus
UUID del repositorio: 4005530d-fff6-0310-9dd1-cebe43e6787f
Revisión: 59507
Tipo de nodo: directorio
Agendado: normal
Autor del último cambio: mattias
Revisión del último cambio: 59505
Fecha de último cambio: 2018-11-10 13:05:38 +0100 (sáb 10 de nov de 2018)

Rev 59473 was fine.


lainz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3508
    • Lainz
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 2 for 2.0
« Reply #47 on: November 10, 2018, 08:42:35 pm »
Hi, what I found is:

- When running for the first time, it looks for 3.1.1 sources on my machine, even if the shipped fpc is 3.0.4
- Debugger is not propperly configured
- By default it targets 32 bit apps, even if the setup I've installed is 64 bit (the IDE is 32 bit, not 64 for some reason...)

Edit: I'm on Windows and I've downloaded the 64 bit version.
« Last Edit: November 10, 2018, 08:44:24 pm by lainz »

jc99

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 539
    • My private Site
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 2 for 2.0
« Reply #48 on: November 10, 2018, 08:45:47 pm »
Now some components suffer from the same problem.
e.G: StringGrid and DBGrid. 
Even when only selecting another cell (without scrolling, or changing), the formerly marked cell is drawn, the now selected cell is drawn but then the full grid is redrawn and in a slow manner.
DB Grid is sometimes redrawn twice without a plausible reason.
Both have DefaultDrawing and DoubleBuffered enabled.
without RDP the redrawing is still there but is much faster. (but still unnecessary)
OS: Win XP x64, Win 7, Win 7 x64, Win 10, Win 10 x64, Suse Linux 13.2
Laz: 1.4 - 1.8.4, 2.0
https://github.com/joecare99/public
'~|    /''
,_|oe \_,are
If you want to do something for the environment: Twitter: #reduceCO2 or
https://www.betterplace.me/klimawandel-stoppen-co-ueber-preis-reduzieren

lainz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3508
    • Lainz
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 2 for 2.0
« Reply #49 on: November 10, 2018, 08:50:32 pm »
The problems I reported before:

- I have fpcupdeluxe on path for some reason, maybe for some android related setup I had configured previously.

So the setup uses the fpc in path instead of the shipped one, maybe as well that causes the debugger problems..

Martin_fr

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6088
    • wiki
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 2 for 2.0
« Reply #50 on: November 10, 2018, 09:12:02 pm »
The problems I reported before:

- I have fpcupdeluxe on path for some reason, maybe for some android related setup I had configured previously.

So the setup uses the fpc in path instead of the shipped one, maybe as well that causes the debugger problems..
Make sure it does not find your old config, if in doubt create a 2ndary install with a new conf dir.

Make sure you have no pre-installed fpc in your path.

--
I did a fresh install of the rc2 64bit win installer. The supplied lazarus.exe is 64bit (according to the windows task manager)
« Last Edit: November 10, 2018, 09:16:10 pm by Martin_fr »

Martin_fr

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6088
    • wiki
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 2 for 2.0
« Reply #51 on: November 10, 2018, 09:19:48 pm »
Lazarus fixes 2.0 compilation is broken. Rev 59507

FreePascal-3.0.5/lazarus-2.0.fixes/lazarus/ide/lazarus.pp(78,5) Fatal: (10022) Can't find unit LazDebuggerFpLldb used by Lazarus
Fatal: (1018) Compilation aborted

1) 59507 that revision is trunk, not fixes.

2) What OS? And how did you start the build? Which command to execute?

It builds fine for me on windows and linux.

Martin_fr

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6088
    • wiki
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 2 for 2.0
« Reply #52 on: November 10, 2018, 09:25:04 pm »
Both have DefaultDrawing and DoubleBuffered enabled.
without RDP the redrawing is still there but is much faster. (but still unnecessary)

IIRC there where changes to doublebuffering between 1.8 and 2.0.
But I don't know the details.

Best to open a thread of its own for this, or even bring it to the mailinglist.

-------------------
Afaik (but I may be utterly wrong) doublebuffering used to be (in 1.8 and before) kind of enforced, always painting the entire control to a buffer bitmap. Which meant on RDP the bitmap had to be sent always.

I am not sure what exactly the new behaviour is....

jujibo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 77
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 2 for 2.0
« Reply #53 on: November 10, 2018, 09:37:23 pm »
Lazarus fixes 2.0 compilation is broken. Rev 59507

FreePascal-3.0.5/lazarus-2.0.fixes/lazarus/ide/lazarus.pp(78,5) Fatal: (10022) Can't find unit LazDebuggerFpLldb used by Lazarus
Fatal: (1018) Compilation aborted

1) 59507 that revision is trunk, not fixes.

2) What OS? And how did you start the build? Which command to execute?

It builds fine for me on windows and linux.

59507 is what svn info reports.

Probably your last change broke it:
Autor del último cambio: mattias
Revisión del último cambio: 59505
Revision: 59505
Log: macos dmg: default debugger TFpLldbDebugger
Modified:
_U  branches/fixes_2_0/
U   branches/fixes_2_0/tools/install/macosx/environmentoptions.xml

It's linux 64 bits (Debian) using lazarus svn: URL: https://svn.freepascal.org/svn/lazarus/branches/fixes_2_0

I use my own scripts to automate building fpc and lazarus (the desired version).  It fails simply executing: make clean bigide
As I said, it was working fine before latest commits.


lainz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3508
    • Lainz
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 2 for 2.0
« Reply #54 on: November 10, 2018, 09:49:28 pm »
The problems I reported before:

- I have fpcupdeluxe on path for some reason, maybe for some android related setup I had configured previously.

So the setup uses the fpc in path instead of the shipped one, maybe as well that causes the debugger problems..
Make sure it does not find your old config, if in doubt create a 2ndary install with a new conf dir.

Make sure you have no pre-installed fpc in your path.

--
I did a fresh install of the rc2 64bit win installer. The supplied lazarus.exe is 64bit (according to the windows task manager)

Yes. I rebuilt the ide installing a package then seems that it changed to 32 bit.

I removed fpc from path and now is 64 bit again.

Thanks for helping.

Martin_fr

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6088
    • wiki
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 2 for 2.0
« Reply #55 on: November 10, 2018, 10:27:30 pm »
Lazarus fixes 2.0 compilation is broken. Rev 59507

FreePascal-3.0.5/lazarus-2.0.fixes/lazarus/ide/lazarus.pp(78,5) Fatal: (10022) Can't find unit LazDebuggerFpLldb used by Lazarus
Fatal: (1018) Compilation aborted

1) 59507 that revision is trunk, not fixes.

2) What OS? And how did you start the build? Which command to execute?

It builds fine for me on windows and linux.

59507 is what svn info reports.

Probably your last change broke it:
Autor del último cambio: mattias
Revisión del último cambio: 59505
Revision: 59505
Log: macos dmg: default debugger TFpLldbDebugger
Modified:
_U  branches/fixes_2_0/
U   branches/fixes_2_0/tools/install/macosx/environmentoptions.xml

It's linux 64 bits (Debian) using lazarus svn: URL: https://svn.freepascal.org/svn/lazarus/branches/fixes_2_0

I use my own scripts to automate building fpc and lazarus (the desired version).  It fails simply executing: make clean bigide
As I said, it was working fine before latest commits.

First of all, sorry I tested with trunk.

I had a look at fixes_2.0.
It indeed has the problem, because some merges are yet missing. The problem is in 59503.
It will work again, when the pending merges from http://wiki.lazarus.freepascal.org/Lazarus_2.0_fixes_branch#Submitted_by_developer_.2F_committer.2C_tested.2C_waiting_to_be_merged have been applied.

jujibo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 77
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 2 for 2.0
« Reply #56 on: November 11, 2018, 10:02:02 am »

First of all, sorry I tested with trunk.

I had a look at fixes_2.0.
It indeed has the problem, because some merges are yet missing. The problem is in 59503.
It will work again, when the pending merges from http://wiki.lazarus.freepascal.org/Lazarus_2.0_fixes_branch#Submitted_by_developer_.2F_committer.2C_tested.2C_waiting_to_be_merged have been applied.

Thank you!

lainz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3508
    • Lainz
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 2 for 2.0
« Reply #57 on: November 11, 2018, 07:03:18 pm »
There is no beta cocoa download? with beta debugger?
« Last Edit: November 11, 2018, 07:17:09 pm by lainz »

Martin_fr

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6088
    • wiki
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 2 for 2.0
« Reply #58 on: November 11, 2018, 07:38:52 pm »
Afaik you can use the carbon download, and build your app for cocoa. (Or rebuild the IDE)

The new debugger works for carbon and cocoa.

lainz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3508
    • Lainz
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 2 for 2.0
« Reply #59 on: November 11, 2018, 09:22:49 pm »
Thanks, I can compile cocoa 64, now I need the debugger and nothing more =)