Recent

Author Topic: Debugger Error - "C:/FPC/3.0.4/demo/text/blackbox.exe": not in executable format  (Read 3263 times)

440bx

Hello,

I'm a newbie to FreePascal and Lazarus.  I'm using Windows 7 SP1 64 bit.

Here is what I've done:

1. I installed the 32bit version of FreePascal then
2. I installed the 64bit cross compiling version of FreePascal then
3. I installed the 64bit version of Lazarus

I did this just yesterday so they should all be the latest versions.

I tested that the installations were working properly by doing the following:

1. I compiled the example blackbox.pp in the demo\text directory with the 32bit version of FPC and it worked.
2. I compiled the same example with the 64bit version of FPC (using the cross compiler) and it worked too. :-)

3. I compiled the blackbox.pp example using Lazarus and using the following project options:

Compiler Options/Config and Target: Target OS: Win64
Compiler Options/Config and Target: Target CPU family: x86_64

The project compiled fine and if I select "Run without debugging", it runs just fine.

If I select  "run" (instead of Run without debugging", I get the Debugger error message shown in the title of this post.

I suspect that the 32bit version of GDB is being invoked to debug what is a 64bit program which, if that is the case, it would explain why GDB is unhappy.

I looked everywhere for a setting that would tell Lazarus to use the 64bit version of GDB (I hope there is one) but, I didn't find a setting anywhere that seemed to be the right one.

My question is: 1. what do I have to do to compile and debug a 64bit version of a program ?

and...

The FPC character based IDE doesn't seem to have an option to enable the creation and debugging of 64bit programs.  If there is a way to make the FPC ide compile and debug 64bit programs, I would really like to know how that is done.

Thank you for your help :-)

John.

(FPC v3.0.4 and Lazarus 1.8.2) or (FPC v3.2.2 and Lazarus v3.2) on Windows 7 SP1 64bit.