Recent

Author Topic: LazPaint doesnt have proper palette edition  (Read 2276 times)

c-sanchez

  • New member
  • *
  • Posts: 23
LazPaint doesnt have proper palette edition
« on: August 27, 2017, 12:48:38 am »
It converts to "true color" and then save as "best" 256 color palette.

Here an same image edited and saved with four graphic editors (Paint, Paint Shop Pro 4, PictBear and Lazpaint) to check the difference.

---
edit: sorry, I will try explain better the problem.

I'm noticed are several image editor saving wrong colors indexes. And only a few do it properly.
Unfortunately LazPaint is one making this wrong.

The number is indicating color index
I will say the color index in this order:
top right square, bottom right square, top left square, bottom left square, center (pink)

This is the original image
https://s6.postimg.org/4cjwgv6up/original_index.png
The color index is: 1, 2, 3, 4, 0 - as indicates the image, of course :P

Now, we will modify and save the image in these programs:
LazPaint, RealWorld Paint, PictBear, Paint Shop Pro 4.

The image edited with LazPaint:
https://s6.postimg.org/slefetwmp/image_Laz_Paint.png
The color index now is: 4, 1, 3, 0, 2 - wrong index

The image edited with RWPaint:
https://s6.postimg.org/6v5lhjskx/image_RWPaint.png
The color index now is: 1, 4, 2, 3, 0 - wrong index

The image edited with PictBear:
https://s6.postimg.org/v06az9cvl/image_Pict_Bear.png
The color index now is: 1, 2, 3, 4, 0 - correct index

The image edited with Paint Shop Pro 4:
https://s6.postimg.org/pq1c7ysmp/image_Paint_Shot_PPro4.png
The color index now is: 1, 2, 3, 4, 0 - correct index

Note: You can view the color index with Paint Shop Pro 4 using the color selector tool
example: https://s6.postimg.org/nb9gnjcdt/psp4_colors.gif
« Last Edit: October 02, 2017, 05:57:34 am by c-sanchez »

c-sanchez

  • New member
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: LazPaint doesnt have proper palette edition
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2017, 05:58:19 am »
Topic updated explaining better the problem.

circular

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2932
    • Personal webpage
Re: LazPaint doesnt have proper palette edition
« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2017, 07:08:44 pm »
That's true. LazPaint does not save the image palette as such. The palette tool only provides colors to use but the image is edited in 32bit color format.
Conscience is the debugger of the mind

c-sanchez

  • New member
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: LazPaint doesnt have proper palette edition
« Reply #3 on: October 03, 2017, 07:44:46 pm »
Yes circular, indeed I realized that with Paint Shop Pro 4 or PictBear I can fix that with save the palette from original image and then load on edited image after.
Then just after seeing that, I thought of trying with the Palette Tool from LazPaint and I've noticed of that, It's just a list of colors hahaha  :(
Example images :
This is the same image edited with Lazpaint, Just viewing current image palette in PictBear
https://s6.postimg.org/spmhjon75/lazpaint_palette.png
Load original palette
https://s6.postimg.org/bp43hx3ld/lazpaint_palette_loaded.png
Image edited in LazPaint with correct palette fixed in PictBear
https://s6.postimg.org/d2v86b9f5/image_Laz_Paint_Pic_Bear-_Palette-_Fix.png

Can you improve the palette tool later?

circular

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2932
    • Personal webpage
Re: LazPaint doesnt have proper palette edition
« Reply #4 on: May 05, 2018, 07:24:48 pm »
Conscience is the debugger of the mind