Recent

Author Topic: newbi looking for relief  (Read 5844 times)

slayfist

newbi looking for relief
« on: February 20, 2007, 04:13:41 am »
Hi folks,

I have been a low tech user of delphi for several years and would like to experiment with lazarus.  So, I installed it onto windows (just not good enough at linux programming to try it there yet).  Anyhow, it installs nicely, and here is what I tried doing:
Creted a dbf in excel, saved it to c:\lazarus test
Created a new form in lazarus, droped a tdbf, tdatasource, tdbnav, tdbgrid and set their properties to reference the dbf (all the stuff that usually works in delphi and using advantage database).  When I tried to activate the dbf - I got a run time error 202.  Fine, figured I set something wrong ... checked, changed something (I know I am vague) but then I tried to activate it again, lazarus shuts down completely.  So I tried essentially the same thing but this time using a data module to throw the database components onto instead of a form.  But this time, I could even get past file new datamodule before it barfed.

Am I doing something wrong ?

slayfist

Vincent Snijders

• Administrator
    • My Lazarus wiki user page
Re: newbi looking for relief
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2007, 09:33:22 am »
Quote from: "slayfist"
I have been a low tech user of delphi for several years and would like to experiment with lazarus.  So, I installed it onto windows (just not good enough at linux programming to try it there yet).  Anyhow, it installs nicely, and here is what I tried doing:
Creted a dbf in excel, saved it to c:\lazarus test