Recent

Author Topic: SQLite 3 error  (Read 4611 times)

sabouras

SQLite 3 error
« on: July 05, 2016, 07:40:04 pm »
Dear All,
I am very new in Lazarus and FPC. I try to learn how to work with the database SQLITE3. I have make step by step several tutorials founded in the web pages. The problem i cope with is that the DBGrid shows only the table fields and no the contain of the fields. In order to understand the problem i am attaching the code and the results i have in my onedrive (the files are too big to upload in the site).
Hope help me found a solution.
Thanks in advance for your time.
Best regards to all.

https://1drv.ms/f/s!AsGJl3xpsi23gvErmrwdNKB55-iv-w

sky_khan

Re: SQLite 3 error
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2016, 08:14:28 pm »
DBGrid can not display or edit blob fields. Your table definition has TEXT columns which is recognized as BLOB type.
You may use TDBMemo component to edit them or you should change their type to VARCHAR() if you need them be editable in Grid.

JanRoza

• http://www.silentwings.nl
« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2016, 10:25:31 pm »
SkyKhan, your information is incorrect as you can show memo field in a dbgrid.
Just look at this topic: http://forum.lazarus.freepascal.org/index.php?topic=14082.0
Laz: Lazarus 2.0.12 FPC 3.2.0
       CodeTyphon 7.4 FPC 3.3.1

sky_khan

« Reply #3 on: July 05, 2016, 10:47:21 pm »
@JanRoza

"you can show memo field in a dbgrid" <> "DBGrid can display or edit BLOB fields"
I said latter.

You can draw anything you want to anywhere you want with some hacks but unless you add this code to component source,
it does not mean that component have this capability.

For example,
Will you tell me how can I edit a 3D model file stored in BLOB field within DBGrid cell ? No ?
I thought so.
« Last Edit: July 05, 2016, 10:48:58 pm by SkyKhan »

marcov

• Global Moderator
  • FPC developer.
« Reply #4 on: July 05, 2016, 11:04:32 pm »
IIRC there is some "ongettext" event for that (memo) fieldtype. Assign it to a function like this: