Recent

Author Topic: Wince-arm appl low memory problem  (Read 8479 times)

roeug

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
    • http://roeug.50megs.com/
Wince-arm appl low memory problem
« on: November 23, 2006, 10:01:10 am »
My App starts and runs OK (WM5). It loads some data at start-up. When user try to load additional data (smth. like relational tables) there is "Low memory" wince message (for the third or the forth additional table depending on the user's choice). I think that the problem is not in LCL. The application works with huge data arrays. (huge for my iPOD but small for PCs. PCs have pagefile, I know nothing about WM5 memory management,- no RTFM):
From http://blogs.msdn.com/windowsmobile/archive/2006/03/31/566187.aspx
> In Windows CE, we have a limited version of the desktop pagefile that we call the "PagePool"
> You can't put the pagefile on removable media....

I think the problem could be solved in the frame of FPC.

What your ideas for the workaround? Swapping on Storage Card,- how ? Registry settings to use Storage Card as "PagePool",- how ? Virtual memory,- how ?

Christian

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 37
RE: Wince-arm appl low memory problem
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2006, 10:09:56 am »
Quote
huge for my iPOD but small for PCs

You have windows mobile running on an iPOD ? Would be nice to know how :)
Waht when you dont load your data into ram ? and work only with an record and load only one record ?

roeug

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
    • http://roeug.50megs.com/
Re: RE: Wince-arm appl low memory problem
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2006, 12:49:00 pm »
Quote from: "Christian"
Quote
huge for my iPOD but small for PCs

You have windows mobile running on an iPOD ? Would be nice to know how :)
Waht when you dont load your data into ram ? and work only with an record and load only one record ?


Sorry, English as a third language, iPAQ HP rx1950

Christian

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 37
RE: Re: RE: Wince-arm appl low memory problem
« Reply #3 on: November 23, 2006, 07:40:18 pm »
So why you need to hold everyhing in memory ?
Simply hold only one item on time in memory and you can work with gigabytes of data.

roeug

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
    • http://roeug.50megs.com/
Re: RE: Re: RE: Wince-arm appl low memory problem
« Reply #4 on: November 27, 2006, 01:10:28 pm »
Quote from: "Christian"
So why you need to hold everyhing in memory ?
Simply hold only one item on time in memory and you can work with gigabytes of data.

Yes, in my case it should work. If I would have a lot of INTER-relational tables how can I solve the problem?

Christian

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 37
RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: Wince-arm appl low memory problem
« Reply #5 on: November 27, 2006, 04:30:23 pm »
An database system schould solve the problem internally so use an embedded database and ask the creator if the problem comes up ... :)

 

TinyPortal © 2005-2018