Recent

Author Topic: Distribute application with database  (Read 3524 times)

acolburn

Distribute application with database
« on: January 14, 2016, 07:10:20 am »
Forgive my ignorance; I am totally new to all of this ... I wrote a small app on Windows 10, copied all the files to a Mac, opened and ran the app in OS X (Yosemite). Everything is working pretty much OK from within the IDE. The app uses a simple SQLite3 database which lives in the same folder as the executable.

My question is how do I turn this into a distributable Mac app? Info I found leads me to think it's just Project->Project Options->Application->Create App Bundle, but double clicking the resulting Application folder gives me an error about how the SQLite3Connection component can't connect to the database file.

I tried moving the db file to various places within the Application folder, but that doesn't make a difference. So what am I supposed to be doing?

Thanks!

p.s. FPC version 3.1.1.

balazsszekely

Re: Distribute application with database
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2016, 07:33:34 am »
After you finish developing the application:
1. Backup your project folder
2. Copy the executable(YourApp) and the database(YourDB) inside the bundle: "YourApp.app/Contents/MacOS/" and replace YourApp(link) wich is actually a symlink and points to the project folder's executable.
Use the following path for database: DbPath := ParamStr(0) + 'YourDB'. It will give you the correct result no matter if your project is under development(executable and db in project folder) or it's released version(executable and db inside the bundle).

acolburn

« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2016, 06:40:11 pm »