Recent

Author Topic: Spreadsheets Compared to Databases  (Read 2842 times)

acolburn

Spreadsheets Compared to Databases
« on: December 14, 2015, 05:32:25 pm »
As a newbie I'm struggling with differences between databases and spreadsheets. My program will have strings and numbers displayed (and edited) in a spreadsheet-like grid. Data displayed in some cells will be the result of calculations made with data displayed in other cells.

At the same time, there will be master-detail like relationships--when users double-click some cells they'll be taken to a second grid displaying additional info (rows and columns).

Narrowly, I don't know how to figure out whether I should be using spreadsheet components for this, or DB-linked components. More generally, I'm unclear about when to code with spreadsheets vs flat file databases (e.g., SQLite, CSV). I recognize a spreadsheet is GUI & database is underlying data; maybe I should word the question in terms of choosing a data type, but examples with non-DB-linked spreadsheet components & db-linked components often seem to take totally different approaches.

Thank you for putting up with my ignorance :-)

wp

Re: Spreadsheets Compared to Databases
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2015, 05:40:11 pm »
General rule: when you have the same data type all along each column then it is better to use a database table. Example: In column A (using spreadsheet notation) you have names, in column B you have cities --> a database.

On the other hand, if you have different data types spread all over the table it is a spreadsheet.

LacaK

« Reply #2 on: December 14, 2015, 06:40:35 pm »
Are "spreadsheet components" DB-aware ?
If not, then you can not use directly components like TDBGrid, TDBEdit for editing data.
In this case you are required to move data from  "spreadsheet components" to display/editing components like TCaption/TEdit and later after user edits them move data from these components back to "spreadsheet components".

wp