Recent

Author Topic: Circular referenced interfaces automatic collector  (Read 3337 times)

Ignatus

• Alexandr Ignatiev's homepage
Circular referenced interfaces automatic collector
« on: May 07, 2015, 11:57:26 pm »
Hi folks. Here is a unit I've written today. Can anybody look at it and say if it worth any note. I am not a pro and am not offended by reviews containing words like "shit" if there is something more specific in them ;).

Introduction
Many people enjoy using interfaces since they are reference-counted and destroy themselves automatically  8-) . But there is a problem when one interface refers to another which refers (maybe indirectly) to the former: they will never expel :'( .

People tried to write a garbage collector for Pascal, but it requires replacing standard memory manager which kills heaptrc, let alone the total bulk of the task and overheads of automatic GC over manual one; some programmers just think that if you chose Pascal, you chose old good manual memory management.

But in some applications you can't avoid structures with impredictable cross-referring. There are reference matrices and some other ways of keeping all the reference map in sight, but in many means nothing can replace for us mere objects connected by pointers to each other. For such structures, we instead of tracing garbage collector inside memory manager can have a reference-analyzing collector: it can be easily, firstly, dedicted to manage only some groups of objects we want  it to without slowing down others; and, secondary, combined with such an easy but powerful procedure as reference counting.

If we want to keep an eye on references, the first Free Pascal tool we are thinking about are interfaces.

Descripion