Recent

Author Topic: Android agan...  (Read 13166 times)

Kamau

• Old Delphi programmer
Android agan...
« on: May 05, 2015, 12:17:57 pm »
Hi, I'm using version 1.4.0 with FPC 2.6.4. I've been programming since 1974 in machinecode, assembler, basic, pascal going on to Delphi in te nineties. I've been using, dos, windows, unix-es, linux-es and VAX.

But I have never compiled for another operating system than the native one.

I find the description on how to compile for Android hard (very hard or impossible within my experience-base) to understand.

Is there a sample-project which I can download to get started? A sample-project which sets all necessary things in the compiler and linker etc.

If necessary I'll install any Lazarus version on any system, Windows or Linux, to get started.

/Kamau

felipemdc

• Administrator
Re: Android agan...
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2015, 03:03:00 pm »
First you need to choose the architecture of the app. Since you didn't say anything about that, there are at least 4 architectures possible:

1> Java + Pascal Library (via JNI).
2> Pascal library with OpenGL graphics
3> Laz4Android
4> LCL-CustomDrawn

For architectures 1 and 2 you can find an example for this here:

https://sourceforge.net/p/lazarus-ccr/svn/HEAD/tree/bindings/android-ndk/examples/jnitest/

Study the example (supposing thats the architecture you are going for).

Build instructions:

http://wiki.lazarus.freepascal.org/Android_Programming#Build_the_NDK_OpenGL_example

For architecture 3 there is: http://wiki.lazarus.freepascal.org/Android_tutorial

Is there a sample-project which I can download to get started? A sample-project which sets all necessary things in the compiler and linker etc.

The example project cannot possibly configure everything necessary, since a lot of preparation for building is necessary. I personally do:

1> Install Lazarus with FPC 2.6.4 in Windows
2> Download fpc trunk source code with SVN
3> Build cross-compiler