Forum > FPC development

Variables everywhere - is it good idea?

<< < (6/6)

Ñuño_Martínez:
As a former C++ programmer, I really discourage it.  It is confusing since you can declare a variable anywhere.

One of the advantages of Pascal is that declarations are in places you can find.  So you can find them.  I know, there are "search" buttons in any IDE but sometimes it's faster to scroll up some lines to the start of the code.

Etc...

User137:

--- Quote from: skalogryz on August 14, 2015, 07:41:17 pm ---for example

--- Code: ---for i:=0 to list.Count-1 do

--- End code ---
and

--- Code: ---i:=0;
while i<list.Count-1 do

--- End code ---
would be act differently if contents of list changes within the loop.
For - loop would execute the "count"-times that was estimated prior to the first iteration, and "while" would check the condition on each iteration of the loop. If "list.Count" is time consuming operation, then for-loop will be even faster.
--- End quote ---
In that Count case i definitely like the "while" case more. If you actually do delete item and try to access it inside, the program may crash for range error. Delete loops should be done with negative increment anyway, from count-1 to 0.

So is Pascal allocating more memory for the for-loops? IE:

--- Code: ---for i:=0 to list.Count-1 do
--- End code ---

--- Code: ---var _for_max: integer;
_for_max:=list.Count-1;
i:=0;
while (i <= _for_max) do begin
  inc(i);
end;
--- End code ---
That seems more instructions to me (but i can understand the .Count is a getter, so it may in worse case go through a function each loop. Then use temp variable to optimize manually.). Also it's babysitting the programmer.

I only mentioned the for-loop case for this thread since original poster started with it, it's only the tip of the iceberg. I like declaring all kinds of variables between code. Even still there is always need for pre-declared private variables.

skalogryz: