Recent

Author Topic: Banana Pro / openSUSE 13.2 (!!!) / Lazarus is running, but no GUI to bee seen..  (Read 3311 times)

DerEinzigeKlaus

Fellow friends,
I am new to the world of Lazarus and FreePascal and Banana Pro since the begin of this year 2015, but not new to programming and computers at all.
Because of needs that I had to start programming hardware (the challenge of GPIO at Banana Pro) after years of absense I decided to use again the way of PASCAL - the only sense making way of program developement in the world  8-). But I had to face a problem - not on windows 7 64 prof., not on openSUSE 13.2 runing at a virtual machine in a virtualbox (of course there is a minor problem: the program stays shadowed after ending a runnig test program. Only a change to another workspace and back solves the problem), but at Banana Pro now since hours runing the new openSUSE 13.2. (out since some days)
Let me tell you: openSUSE is the best linux platform I found for all linux purposes at all. (Forget about Debian, Redhat, Ubuntoo and so on. I checked this since years and of course especially in this case. Since years I do follow the scenery, but the best solution stays openSUSE! - a lot of developement is still to be done in all cases but they do have the best base for "end users")
Back to the problem: I compiled as told. Result: the program is running, but there is no visual GUI interface as I am used in other distibutions. I can end the program via using the right mouse button option at the button instance at command bar and ALT-F4. (and of course "kill 'pid'") But no GUI to be seen. If I start at terminal I do see as last message and error message of gtk: - oh! - I had frogotten to tell you that in virtualbox I had the problem that the font size of the letters was not initialized correct - it was set to '0'. But I was able to correct manually by setting the correct properties in the properties dialog -