Recent

Author Topic: About-menu  (Read 3987 times)

lcgrs

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
About-menu
« on: January 02, 2015, 03:17:33 pm »
On this page I found some explanation concerning the About-menu (on Mac OSX). Is it possible to have it in Dutch (the menu, not the explanation)?

Thanks & happy new year!

skalogryz

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2290
    • havefunsoft.com
Re: About-menu
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2015, 03:21:15 pm »
I know it's not a good approach, but what happens if you assign caption "about" in Dutch to the about menu?
Patron Cocoa Widgetset development https://www.patreon.com/skalogryz

lcgrs

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
Re: About-menu
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2015, 09:38:33 pm »
The items that I translated are in Dutch, but the others remains in English: Services, Hide project1, Hide others, Show all, Quit project1.
BTW: I don't have an Help menu?

skalogryz

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2290
    • havefunsoft.com
Re: About-menu
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2015, 09:46:29 pm »
The items that I translated are in Dutch, but the others remains in English: Services, Hide project1, Hide others, Show all, Quit project1.
These are OSX generated and controlled. Thus if your regional settings show Dutch language - they should appear in Dutch.
Patron Cocoa Widgetset development https://www.patreon.com/skalogryz

lcgrs

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
Re: About-menu
« Reply #4 on: January 02, 2015, 10:43:59 pm »
Region is Belgium and Language is Dutch ... but they are not translated... :(

jwdietrich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1036
    • formatio reticularis
Re: About-menu
« Reply #5 on: January 03, 2015, 02:14:07 pm »
Which string did you enter in the Localization native development region key in your info.plist file?
function GetRandomNumber: integer; // xkcd.com
begin
  GetRandomNumber := 4; // chosen by fair dice roll. Guaranteed to be random.
end;

http://www.formatio-reticularis.de

Lazarus 2.0.6 | FPC 3.0.4 | PPC, Intel, ARM | macOS, Windows, Linux

skalogryz

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2290
    • havefunsoft.com
Re: About-menu
« Reply #6 on: January 03, 2015, 06:03:25 pm »
It's better not to modify "localization native development", since it might keep "Dutch" language on English machines or switch to whatever language on any other language (German or French)

It's better to add "Localizations" array and add Dutch language there. OSX should find the "supported localization" and translate system menus accordingly. 
Patron Cocoa Widgetset development https://www.patreon.com/skalogryz

CM630

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 869
  • Не съм сигурен, че те разбирам.
    • http://sourceforge.net/u/cm630/profile/
Re: About-menu
« Reply #7 on: January 03, 2015, 07:24:57 pm »
The items that I translated are in Dutch, but the others remains in English: Services, Hide project1, Hide others, Show all, Quit project1.
These are OSX generated and controlled. Thus if your regional settings show Dutch language - they should appear in Dutch.
Yes, but if there is a Dutch Localization of MacOS.
Лазар 2,0,6;W7 64bit or XP 32bit;FPC3,2,0;rev 62129

lcgrs

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
Re: About-menu
« Reply #8 on: January 03, 2015, 09:11:13 pm »
It's better not to modify "localization native development", since it might keep "Dutch" language on English machines or switch to whatever language on any other language (German or French)

It's better to add "Localizations" array and add Dutch language there. OSX should find the "supported localization" and translate system menus accordingly.

This was the right answer. It works... :)

skalogryz

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2290
    • havefunsoft.com
Re: About-menu
« Reply #9 on: January 04, 2015, 02:58:57 am »
This was the right answer. It works... :)
ok... so what's the problem with Help menu?
Patron Cocoa Widgetset development https://www.patreon.com/skalogryz