Recent

Author Topic: "Execution Stopped" message  (Read 28197 times)

lewjoubert

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • http://www.contact51.com
"Execution Stopped" message
« on: July 07, 2006, 01:20:10 am »
I create a project with D7 then copy all of them to a directory on the machine with Lazarus.
Using Tools/Convert Delphi Project to Lazarus I then load the files. Lazarus does what it does and then when I compile/run the application, I get the "successfully built" message folows shortly afterwards by the "Exection Stopped" message and the application just ends!! - it doesn't run.

When I try to run the produced executable, nothing happens.

When I check the properties of the file produced, it reads like this.

Type: executable
Size: 3.8MB
MIMI type: application/x-executable

The properties of other apps created and compiled directly with Lazarus are also the same as the above.

Any ideas?
 :?:

Marc

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2582
RE: "Execution Stopped" message
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2006, 10:21:29 am »
how does your converted project file look like ?
//--
{$I stdsig.inc}
//-I still can't read someones mind
//-Bugs reported here will be forgotten. Use the bug tracker

lewjoubert

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • http://www.contact51.com
RE: "Execution Stopped" message
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2006, 11:04:53 am »
..not sure what you mean by converted project file.
Each form looks good, the code in each unit looks good - everything looks good, except it don't work!

This is what happens - Press F9 or the RUN icon. Compiles, Links with message Project xxx successfully built.

Very top of Lazarus IDE indicates with message "xxx.lpi(debugging...)

Still no visible sign of running application, just the development forms. However, and this seems strange to me, move the mouse/cusor and immediately the message dialog "Execution Stopped" and the Lazarus IDE message changes from Debugging to xxx.lpi

Marc

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2582
RE: "Execution Stopped" message
« Reply #3 on: July 08, 2006, 02:33:24 am »
a delphi .dpr  gets translated in a lpr.  A Lazarus Project file.
What is in it ?
//--
{$I stdsig.inc}
//-I still can't read someones mind
//-Bugs reported here will be forgotten. Use the bug tracker

Anonymous

  • Guest
RE: "Execution Stopped" message
« Reply #4 on: July 08, 2006, 05:28:12 am »
OK, I got it - this is a copy of the .lpr file.
There are 11 forms plus a utility .pas file. All appear present and correct.

program TagTest;

uses
  Forms,
  Unit1 in 'Unit1.pas' {Form1},
  Utils in 'Utils.pas',
  Unit2 in 'Unit2.pas' {Form2},
  Unit3 in 'Unit3.pas' {Form3},
  Unit4 in 'Unit4.pas' {Form4},
  Unit5 in 'Unit5.pas' {Form5},
  Unit6 in 'Unit6.pas' {Form6},
  Unit7 in 'Unit7.pas' {Form7},
  Unit8 in 'Unit8.pas' {Form8},
  Unit9 in 'Unit9.pas' {Form9},
  Unit10 in 'Unit10.pas' {Form10},
  Unit11 in 'Unit11.pas' {Form11};

{$R *.res}

begin
  Application.Initialize;
  Application.CreateForm(TForm1, Form1);
  Application.CreateForm(TForm2, Form2);
  Application.CreateForm(TForm3, Form3);
  Application.CreateForm(TForm4, Form4);
  Application.CreateForm(TForm5, Form5);
  Application.CreateForm(TForm6, Form6);
  Application.CreateForm(TForm7, Form7);
  Application.CreateForm(TForm8, Form8);
  Application.CreateForm(TForm9, Form9);
  Application.CreateForm(TForm10, Form10);
  Application.CreateForm(TForm11, Form11);
  Application.Run;
end.

I've tried everything I can think of to no availe.
Pity, I was hoping this was a simple road to porting an app from D7. Looks like I'll have to redo the whole thing manually.
Hope you can help!

lewjoubert

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • http://www.contact51.com
RE: "Execution Stopped" message
« Reply #5 on: July 08, 2006, 05:33:28 am »
... apologies, I hadn't logged in so the above message from "Guest", should be me.
Also, when I first checked things out, I noticed that only forms 10 and 11 showed up when doing a "Project - Project Options - Form tab" check from the IDE. I manually added the rest to the .lpr file. Thereafter they all showed up in the "Project Options" dialog.

Marc

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2582
RE: "Execution Stopped" message
« Reply #6 on: July 08, 2006, 02:29:41 pm »
you can try to add {$AppType Console} as first line of the .lpr (or maybe better uncheck the "win32 gui application on the linker tab of the compiler options)
Now you get a console when you run your app. there miy be some messages.
//--
{$I stdsig.inc}
//-I still can't read someones mind
//-Bugs reported here will be forgotten. Use the bug tracker

glober

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
"Execution Stopped" message
« Reply #7 on: July 08, 2006, 10:54:45 pm »
This is just an idea that may not apply, but did you check form properties like "enabled" and "visible"? I find that sometimes there are problems with properties and events transfering correctly when going from Delphi to Lazarus and vice versa.

Anonymous

  • Guest
"Execution Stopped" message
« Reply #8 on: July 09, 2006, 01:51:12 am »
When I add the AppType statement to .lpr then I get the message AppType is not supported by the target OS.

Also, win32 gui was  (and is) unchecked.

Insterestingly I did find that all eleven forms properties were set Visible = False.

I changed the 11 forms visibility to True, and tried again - still the same result.

RUN the app. "successfully built" message comes up - but the instant I move the mouse/cursor execution stops with the "Execution Stopped" message.

I've checked all I can think of - I am now suspecting something related to the OS or even hardware.

I am running Fedora Core5 on a Dell Latitude Laptop with bags of memory and disk space.

I was wondering if there was anyone out the who might be prepared to load my files onto their PC and see if they get the same result in Lazarus?

Any takers!!??

glober

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
"Execution Stopped" message
« Reply #9 on: July 09, 2006, 02:34:24 am »
Quote from: "Anonymous"
I was wondering if there was anyone out the who might be prepared to load my files onto their PC and see if they get the same result in Lazarus?

Any takers!!??

Send the project to: glober(at)telus(dot)net , I'll have a look.

Anonymous

  • Guest
"Execution Stopped" message
« Reply #10 on: July 10, 2006, 11:38:02 pm »
This has been quite an exercise, an amazing learning curve. With the help of many, especially 'glober' for taking my files and spending time sifting through them.

The main problems appeared to be that:
1)  I needed to add 'Interfaces' to the .lpr file
2)  remove {$R*.res} from the .lpr file
3)  All forms 'Visible' properties had changed to 'False'during the conversion
4)  Added ExtractFilePath() to ensure files files got found
5) Then probably the biggest problem was some sloppy programming (mine). Unassigned/Unclosed files  causing crashes - seems like Delphi is more foregiving! Seems I chose my worst coding (more haste less speed) to experiment with.

Now I am so much more familiar with the IDE and finding my way about Lazarus - still a long way to go
but at least there is light at the end of the tunnel (train?), Lazarus is good!

Thanks to all concerned.

Marc

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2582
"Execution Stopped" message
« Reply #11 on: July 11, 2006, 10:35:28 am »
Great that you could get it to work.
Didn't the dpr to lpr conversion add the Interfaces to the lpr file (or did you a manual conversion?)
//--
{$I stdsig.inc}
//-I still can't read someones mind
//-Bugs reported here will be forgotten. Use the bug tracker

Pascaluvr

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 216
"Execution Stopped" message
« Reply #12 on: May 29, 2007, 12:53:17 am »
Marc,  I know this thread is old, but the solution above is still required for any conversion I have done.  Lazarus doesn't add the 'Interfaces' to the lpr file.  And while the lpr file has {$mode Delphi} added to it, this still must be added to most Units.
Windows 7, Lazarus 1.0.8, FPC 2.6.2, SQLite 3

Marc

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2582
"Execution Stopped" message
« Reply #13 on: May 29, 2007, 12:29:16 pm »
See my sig. Please report it in our bugtracker.
//--
{$I stdsig.inc}
//-I still can't read someones mind
//-Bugs reported here will be forgotten. Use the bug tracker

Pascaluvr

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 216
"Execution Stopped" message
« Reply #14 on: May 30, 2007, 12:19:01 pm »
I must be dumb ...  but as a new user I have been to bugtracker and cannot see how to report this bug.  In fact, there seems to be very little there.

Is there a reason that bugs reported here are ignored - and bugs are only listened to on an obscure section that the average newbie has no clue how to use?
Windows 7, Lazarus 1.0.8, FPC 2.6.2, SQLite 3

 

TinyPortal © 2005-2018