Recent

Author Topic: Working with Bitmaps and PNGs  (Read 9390 times)

Devin

Working with Bitmaps and PNGs
« on: June 08, 2006, 01:14:26 am »
Ok, so I am completely new at this, so any help you can give me is much appreciated.

I have a bitmap displayed on the screen, 125 x 90 pixels.  The user clicks a button, picks another 125 X 90 bitmap.  The program is supposed to overlay the selected image onto the first, interpreting black as transparent, and then replace the displayed image with the resulting image.

I wrote some code to do this, where you basically loop through each pixel of the overlay image, and if it's black you use the pixel from the original image, else you use the pixel from the overlay to create the new image.  However, it's not working correctly.

The program seems to interpret any solid colour as black, so a value of rgb(255,0,0) would be interpreted as transparent, rather than red.

Here's the code I'm using
Code: [Select]

procedure TForm1.Button1Click(Sender: TObject);

var
   LoadImage: TBitmap;
   SwapImage: TBitmap;
   BackColour, OverColour, SwapColour: TColor;
   px, py: Integer;

begin
  OpenPictureDialog1.Execute;
  //this is where the magic happens.
  LoadImage:=TBitmap.Create;
  LoadImage.LoadFromFile(OpenPictureDialog1.FileName);
  LoadImage.Transparent:=False;
  SwapImage:=TBitmap.Create;
  SwapImage.Width:=90;
  SwapImage.Height:=135;
  SwapImage.Transparent:=False;
  //go pixel by pixel to create SwapImage
  for px:= 0 to 89 do begin
      for py:= 0 to 134 do begin
        //get overlay colour
        OverColour:=LoadImage.Canvas.Pixels[px,py]; //from overlay image, overlay colour
        if (OverColour=$000000) then begin //if overlay pixel is black
          BackColour:=Image1.Canvas.Pixels[px,py];  //a fancy way of doing absolutely nothing
          SwapColour:=BackColour;
        end else begin
          SwapColour:=OverColour; //if the overlay pixel is not black, put that pixel in the swap value
        end;