Recent

Author Topic: porting a utility DLL from Windows to Linux  (Read 4014 times)

jaspers

porting a utility DLL from Windows to Linux
« on: February 19, 2014, 05:48:29 pm »
Hey, all, I'm a total newbie to lazarus but have been a delphi programmer for years.  Please forgive me if i'm asking a FAQ or missing something obvious, or if this is the wrong board to post on.

I'm on Ubuntu Linux (13.10) with Lazarus 1.0.14 .deb and FPC 2.6.2 downloaded and installed from the Lazarus project itself (not the .debs from repo).

I'm trying to convert and compile a Delphi project in Linux.  It was non-visual: just some utilities that were .DLLs on Windows.

The first thing I'm hitting is that the unit uses Windows so I get the following error:

Code: [Select]
MLRIBMemUnit.pas(7,6) Fatal: Can not find unit Windows used by MLRIBMemUnit.
Is there an equivalent Lazarus package for this?  Or is "uses Windows;" usually a lost cause?  Or do I comment it out and then try to address / rewrite each of the actual functions that are called?

Taking the last strategy, for instance: when I comment it out, I get undefined functions ( "Error: Identifier not found") for:
TlsSetValue
TlsGetValue
DLL_THREAD_DETACH
DllProc
TlsAlloc
RaiseLastWin32Error
TlsFree

..and it stops after 9 errors..

Any recommendations on how to proceed at this point?

Or is there a "porting Delphi to Lazarus" post or guide anywhere that might help?

Or a table of equivalent Delphi <-> Lazarus units?

Thanks for any help/suggestions..
« Last Edit: February 19, 2014, 05:57:32 pm by jaspers »

howardpc

Re: porting a utility DLL from Windows to Linux
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2014, 07:03:24 pm »
You know there are options on the Tools menu for converting Delphi units and/or projects?