Recent

Author Topic: how to make money creating a program in Pascal for Ubuntu OS  (Read 5832 times)

samat_bazarbaev

how to make money creating a program in Pascal for Ubuntu OS
« on: November 21, 2013, 03:53:47 pm »
Is that possible? I'm a newbie

Leledumbo

• Programming + Glam Metal + Tae Kwon Do = Me
Re: how to make money creating a program in Pascal for Ubuntu OS
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2013, 04:12:35 pm »
Yes, please browse the "application gallery" and "projects using lazarus" articles in the wiki. Some of them are commercial.

ajosifoski

« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2013, 04:15:32 pm »
interesting topic!

Does ubuntu have store?
Even windows is new with his  store for win8.1

From my opinion go to web development (php, django, or ruby) or iOS-android, or flash-flex-actionscript or even c/c++ for desktop dev or something  else.
For now it is possible to make a web page for your idea and that way lazarus is great. Just make a program free with limitations (or trial) and pro without limitations.

Creating open source on sourceforge or google code? Excelent, but if you have enough money or want to build some portfolio as newbye.
Hm, even cobol have more  tags on stackoverflow than lazarus (~400 > ~300) not to mention fortran with his 20.000+ tags.

Let's sumarize: For developing self idea lazarus is great also for open source programs. For hiring delphi is 100 times better for now, but if i choose (not, I'm going in web dev & lazarus for developing self idea) for hiring will choose Qt C++ rather then lazarus.

Scoops

« Reply #3 on: November 21, 2013, 04:23:57 pm »
Personally i would say that making money on a linux distro would be hard.
I would prefer 'how to make money creating a program in Pascal using Lazarus'

You code you application using Ubuntu if you like, and then compile for Windows then Mac...
Thats the advantage of Lazarus/free pascal, multi platform.  Maybe Mac and windows