Recent

Author Topic: Lazarus + Windows CE 6.0  (Read 27099 times)

RaC

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
Lazarus + Windows CE 6.0
« on: December 13, 2012, 02:34:33 am »
Hi !

I can't figure this one out.

When i create a simple "Hello World" project for WINCE and i compile it,
the .exe runs fine on the Windows Mobile 6 emulator (with WINCE OS 5.2x).

But when i copy that .exe to a real WINCE OS 6.00 device, the .exe does "run",
but there is no form visible.

On the "Hello World" i only used a button on a form, nothing special.

Do i need to copy files to the WINCE OS 6.00 device to make it work ?
Or do i need special settings to get it working in OS 6.00 ?

I hope someone knows the solution :D

Thanks !

Paul

felipemdc

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3538
Re: Lazarus + Windows CE 6.0
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2012, 10:50:59 am »
Do i need to copy files to the WINCE OS 6.00 device to make it work ?

No, only the .exe

Quote
Or do i need special settings to get it working in OS 6.00 ?

Probably your device uses another architecture, not ARM. Which is your exact processor model? Check its documentation if it is ARM, x86 or MIPS. See other possible reasons here:

http://wiki.lazarus.freepascal.org/WinCE_Programming_Tips#Application_runs_on_Windows_Device_Emulator.2C_but_not_on_physical_device

RaC

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
Re: Lazarus + Windows CE 6.0
« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2012, 01:25:59 pm »
Hi,

Thanks for your reply.

The device i'm using runs on Windows CE 6.0 and it says :

Freescale ARM113

(It should be an ARMV4I according to the manufacture)

I really hope i get this to work :D

When i run the .exe now on the device, i get no messages at all, just
no form visible.

Thanks again !

Paul
 
« Last Edit: December 13, 2012, 01:41:23 pm by RaC »

Laksen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 687
    • J-Software
Re: Lazarus + Windows CE 6.0
« Reply #3 on: December 13, 2012, 01:41:54 pm »
Does a simple console application run okay on the real device?

goodname

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 297
Re: Lazarus + Windows CE 6.0
« Reply #4 on: December 13, 2012, 03:23:59 pm »
The wiki has some suggestion about tracking down problems like this.

See "TIPS / FAQ"
http://wiki.freepascal.org/WinCE_Programming_Tips

RaC

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
Re: Lazarus + Windows CE 6.0
« Reply #5 on: December 13, 2012, 06:02:36 pm »
Thanks everyone,

will read the links :)

Still weird, cause it's an ARM device which im using, hope these links will
give me an answer.

Cheers.

Lupus

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
Re: Lazarus + Windows CE 6.0
« Reply #6 on: April 11, 2013, 10:26:15 am »
Hi,

I wrote some programms using Lazarus some time ago. I've used Lazarus 0.9.28.2 (fpc 2.2.4) and 0.9.30 (fpc 2.4.2). Apps were tested on Windows Mobile 6 emulator (CE 5.2) and on real devices (i.e. Symbol MC9090G, Motorola MC3190, Honeywell Dolphin 9700). Everything was working OK.

Now I have problem with the same apps but it's installed on Motorola MC2180 (Marvell PXA 320, WindowsCE 6.0). First, my GUI applications look strange on terminal - they have no custom icon (just default icon for a application in OS). When I click on such icon nothing happens - no error window, no beep, no result.

I installed today Lazarus' latest version 1.0.8 (fpc 2.6.2). I've preperred simple app with just one form and configured Lazarus to compile to WinCE. Effect is just the same like before.

I've created console application with default content and ran it in command prompt on terminal. Program executed but again with no output.
When I shortened the default console program to this only:

Code: [Select]
program project1;

begin
  Write('- TEST -');
end.

I get popup error window with some numbers.

When program was:

Code: [Select]
program project1;

uses
  SysUtils;

begin
  Write('- TEST -');
end.

in result I got EInOutError: File not open

When I changed program to this:

Code: [Select]
program project1;

var
  old, f: TextFile;

begin
  Assign(f, '/file.txt');
  Rewrite(f);
  old := Output;
  Output := f;
  Write('- TEST -');
  Output := old;
  CloseFile(f);
end.

it worked.

I don't know how this issue with console application is connected to "silent death" of forms applications. But I have no idea how to solve my problem and don't know how to configure Lazarus to compile properly to WindowsCE 6.0.

HermanR

  • New member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Lazarus + Windows CE 6.0
« Reply #7 on: July 12, 2013, 10:08:56 am »
I have the same problem, the console writes to the file ok
A new project with the same code in the formShow or FormCreate doesn't write the file
In the project options I only changed
- LCL WidgetType = wince
-Target OS (-T) = WinCE
Target CPU family (-P) = arm
Linking - generate debugging info for GDB = Unchecked

Installation of
lazarus-1.0.10-fpc-2.6.2-win32.exe
lazarus-1.0.10-fpc-2.6.2-cross-arm-wince-win32.exe
I did it in this order and in reverse order.

De properties of both the working (program) and not working (application) exe give Portable executable for ARM or compatible (01C0h / 010Bh)
The target device is Motorola MC2180 WinCE 6.0.

Any suggestions?
A working project with just a form will do too.

thanks in advance
Herman


nightrider

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 139
Re: Lazarus + Windows CE 6.0
« Reply #8 on: July 25, 2013, 10:11:22 pm »
I have a totally stable and operational Windows Mobile application that opens the screen out of the visible screen in a WinCE 5.0 handheld. Another simple totally operational windows mobile application opens minimized in the WinCE 5.0 and doesn't maximize.

I know that at least the screen blanking routine of WinCE lazarus 1.0.8 have problem. It doesn't clean the screen totally. It was told me by mr. Felipe Carvalho told me there is a problem in this routine caused by a wrong modification made some versions ago.

Cheers

Ricardo

bambamns

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 223
Re: Lazarus + Windows CE 6.0
« Reply #9 on: July 26, 2013, 06:14:19 am »
Hi @RaC

I use Lazarus 1.1 SVN build 41609 with FPC 2.6.2 on WinCE Emulator 6.5 and PSION EP10 device with WinCE 6.5 and everything is working just fine on few dozen devices used every day more then a half a year.

Application is used for POS orders and it send collected data thru socket , GPRS and internet to server.

I have made another application for WinCE and it is used on more then 150 PSION EP10 devices more then a year.

All windows and controls are displayed with no problem, so it is hard form me to understand what kind of problem do you have.
Lazarus 1.8.4 + FPC 2.6.4 x86 (rebuild) and Lazarus 2.0, Windows 7 x64, unless otherwise specified

BigChimp

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5740
  • Add to the wiki - it's free ;)
    • FPCUp, PaperTiger scanning and other open source projects
Re: Lazarus + Windows CE 6.0
« Reply #10 on: July 26, 2013, 08:21:44 am »
I know that at least the screen blanking routine of WinCE lazarus 1.0.8 have problem. It doesn't clean the screen totally. It was told me by mr. Felipe Carvalho told me there is a problem in this routine caused by a wrong modification made some versions ago.
Yep. AFAIR, it was fixed in Lazarus trunk (i.e. the SVN/development version), probably not backported to 1.0.10 but perhaps it is:
http://wiki.lazarus.freepascal.org/Lazarus_1.0_fixes_branch#Fixes_for_1.0.10_.28Merged.29
Want quicker answers to your questions? Read http://wiki.lazarus.freepascal.org/Lazarus_Faq#What_is_the_correct_way_to_ask_questions_in_the_forum.3F

Open source including papertiger OCR/PDF scanning:
https://bitbucket.org/reiniero

Lazarus trunk+FPC trunk x86, Windows x64 unless otherwise specified

felipemdc

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3538
Re: Lazarus + Windows CE 6.0
« Reply #11 on: August 01, 2013, 10:46:06 pm »
I know that at least the screen blanking routine of WinCE lazarus 1.0.8 have problem. It doesn't clean the screen totally. It was told me by mr. Felipe Carvalho told me there is a problem in this routine caused by a wrong modification made some versions ago.

There exists no "screen blanking routine". The problem is that you use a piece of code to make the form full-screen, and this piece of code stopped working because of changes in LCL-WinCE. But by itself, this does not mean that there is any bug or regression in the LCL-WinCE. It's just that this code became obsolete and needs to be updated. That's normal, any software may need updating due to changes in other libraries, or even the operating system, it's maintenance.

nightrider

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 139
Re: Lazarus + Windows CE 6.0
« Reply #12 on: August 06, 2013, 10:06:52 pm »
Okay!

The piece of code, if I remember well, is suggested by yourself.

Should you, please, tell me(or tell us) what kind of modifications we must do in our pieces of code to get full screen effect back?

Cheers

Ricardo

 

TinyPortal © 2005-2018