Recent

Author Topic: Lazarus+Ubuntu 12.04LTS  (Read 11009 times)

Curt Carpenter

Lazarus+Ubuntu 12.04LTS
« on: December 03, 2012, 05:22:09 am »
Hello.
I have just installed Lazarus on Ubuntu 12.04, and have been able to write, debug and execute formless FPC programs starting from New>Program (eg., "Hello. world" using writeln).

If I use New>Application though, with a single blank form, and attempt to Build it, I get the following message:

/usr/lib/lazarus/0.9.30.2/masks.pas (29,22) Fatal:  Can't find contnrs used by Masks.

I am brand new to Ubuntu, and all of my Lazarus experience is with the Windows version, so I'm having a hard time figuring out what I need to do to fix this issue.
Any helpful insights would be much appreciated.   I suspect that I need to define a path somewhere, but don't know where to look. 

mmab

Re: Lazarus+Ubuntu 12.04LTS
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2012, 05:29:22 am »
check your permissions. make sure that you have 755 at least for lazarus sources.

FelipeFS

« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2012, 05:29:37 am »
Is your FPC installed? Contnrs is a unit that comes from FPC, check if your FPC is installed. It is probably in the folder

/usr/share/fpcsrc/[The version of FPC]/

EDIT:
if the FPC is installed, check in Tool>Options is the IDE is pointing to the FPC folder.
« Last Edit: December 03, 2012, 05:37:16 am by FelipeFS »

Curt Carpenter

« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2012, 07:25:45 pm »
Thanks to all for the hints and suggestions.

After checking for FPC and following up on the other ideas,  I decided to uninstall Lazarus completely and start over from scratch using the Synaptic Package Manager.  I also deleted all traces of Lazarus in my home folder.

In the process of doing this, I discovered that I had two different installations of FPC on Ubuntu.  No idea how that happened -- probably a side effect of not knowing what I was doing %)