Recent

Author Topic: MySQL 5.5 simple questions  (Read 6384 times)

User137

• Nxpascal home
MySQL 5.5 simple questions
« on: October 15, 2012, 05:26:55 pm »
1) Is MySQL 5.5 fully supported in SVN yet, or should i be using 5.1 instead? I have a TMySQL55Connection created on TForm with varying success in its use.

About the "varying success", i can connect to my MySQL 5.5 database and get some data from it. But since i am a newbie with delphi/lazarus database classes, i'd like some verification on how code should be written. I don't use any visual components, just manually accessing the database with commands.
Code: [Select]
  try
    query.SQL.Text:=
      'SELECT id FROM player WHERE active=0 LIMIT 0, 1';
    query.Open;
    if not query.EOF then begin // Is there better way to ask if result is not null?
      showmessage(query.Fields[0].AsString);
      game.myid:=query.Fields[0].AsInteger; // Crash here
    end;
  finally
    query.Close; // Do i have to close the query every time?
  end;
2) Above code crashes on .AsInteger. That would, i think, mean that SQL 5.5 implementation is incomplete, and i would propably have to use AsString to extract all data. (I mean AsInteger is virtual function with raise exception in the default behavior. I have no idea where the MySQL implementation of it would be.) However i did a similar test to other field with float value and that worked. In the database ID has type INT(4), (all names in lowercase).

3) Making update to database is unclear to me too.
  query.SQL.Text:=format(
    'UPDATE player SET active=1 WHERE id=%d', [game.myid]);
  //query.Open;
  query.ExecSQL;
  //query.Close;
Just what of them should i call, and how do i know it was correctly updated? I can issue SQL commands with MySQL Workbench just fine, it seems that i'm much less limited with syntax with the Lazarus. The above select commands work fine with ' ' and without with field names or values.
« Last Edit: October 15, 2012, 05:31:17 pm by User137 »