Recent

Author Topic: VirtualTreeView: Internal String Type  (Read 6236 times)

AMarchant

VirtualTreeView: Internal String Type
« on: October 25, 2011, 07:15:16 pm »
Hi all.

I'm an absolute Lazarus/Free Pascal beginner, so this might all be the result of some fundamental misunderstanding.

I'm trying to convert a Delphi 6 project to Lazarus. The two main visual components are a TVirtualStringTree and a TVirtualDrawTree.

In my project I created my own version of the TVirtualTreeHintWindow, and this is where I'm having problems at the moment. The thing is, it appears that many of the internal string references in VirtualTrees.pas have been changed from UnicodeString (where UnicodeString is defined as "UnicodeString = WideString") to String in the Lazarus port.

Looking at the Lazarus Wiki documentation, it seems "String" is synonymous with AnsiString with the {$H+} compiler switch (else ShortString), and looking at the Compiler Options for my project this is on by default.
So this leaves me with two questions:

1) Am I correct in understanding that the Lazarus-ported VirtualTrees are AnsiString only?
2) If not, how do I go about passing my WideString data to the functions/event handers that now expect AnsiString parameters?

Thank in advance. I don't mean to be disparaging in anyway, I can only imagine the amount of work that was involved in translating the component, and I commend the authors highly for that.
« Last Edit: October 25, 2011, 07:28:31 pm by AMarchant »

IPguy

Re: VirtualTreeView: Internal String Type
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2011, 08:35:18 pm »
Per: the FPC ref. guide (for v2.4.4, April 2011)...
    ftp://ftp.freepascal.org/fpc/docs-pdf/ref.pdf

The compiler transparantly converts WideStrings to AnsiStrings and vice versa.

However....

The compiler itself provides no support for any conversion from Unicode to ansistrings or vice versa.
The system unit has a unicodestring manager record, which can be initialized with some OS-specific