Recent

Author Topic: Autocad and Lazarus/FPC?  (Read 23716 times)

Avishai

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1021
Autocad and Lazarus/FPC?
« on: September 19, 2011, 01:44:00 pm »
Has anyone looked in to the possibility of approaching AutoDesk about making Lazarus/FPC a programming language for Autocad?  I think it would almost instantly increase the popularity of Lazarus/FPC and I know it would be a huge improvement for Autocad.  It seems to me that all that would be needed is a means of communicating with Autocad and a library.
Lazarus Trunk / fpc 2.6.2 / Win32

BlueIcaro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 576
Re: Autocad and Lazarus/FPC?
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2011, 02:56:40 pm »
Hello, If someone wants to start, I read that Autocad files, are Ascii files, with instruccions to "render" the files. More info in Autocad website.

/BlueIcaro
Remenber, the lazarus wiki is your friend: http://wiki.lazarus.freepascal.org/Main_Page
General questions (several lenguages) http://wiki.lazarus.freepascal.org/

Avishai

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1021
Re: Autocad and Lazarus/FPC?
« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2011, 04:46:52 pm »
I just looked at an Acad DWG file.  It is not a text file.
Lazarus Trunk / fpc 2.6.2 / Win32

BlueIcaro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 576
Re: Autocad and Lazarus/FPC?
« Reply #3 on: September 19, 2011, 05:15:14 pm »
Remenber, the lazarus wiki is your friend: http://wiki.lazarus.freepascal.org/Main_Page
General questions (several lenguages) http://wiki.lazarus.freepascal.org/

TurboRascal

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 672
  • "Good sysadmin. Bad programmer."™
Re: Autocad and Lazarus/FPC?
« Reply #4 on: September 19, 2011, 05:39:59 pm »
Why would you wish to interface to AutoCAD? Especially since it is a Windows-only solution, so the full potential of Laz/FPC couldn't be unleashed...
Regards, ArNy the Turbo Rascal
-
"The secret is to give them what they need, not what they want." - Scotty, STTNG:Relics

Avishai

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1021
Re: Autocad and Lazarus/FPC?
« Reply #5 on: September 19, 2011, 06:01:06 pm »
Actually, Acad also runs on Mac.  The reason I would like to see it is that Acad only has 2 languages that it supports.  VB and Lisp.  Both are poor choices in my opinion.  I think you have to buy VB but I may be wrong.  There are ways to make Python work with Acad and maybe others, but I have not tried them and AutoDesk does not support them.  Anyway, it was an idea.  If it increased the popularity of LAzarus/FPC and maybe got some corporate sponsorship, would that be a bad thing?
Lazarus Trunk / fpc 2.6.2 / Win32

TurboRascal

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 672
  • "Good sysadmin. Bad programmer."™
Re: Autocad and Lazarus/FPC?
« Reply #6 on: September 19, 2011, 07:50:21 pm »
You are right, that might be a good idea, but sounds quite hard to implement...
Regards, ArNy the Turbo Rascal
-
"The secret is to give them what they need, not what they want." - Scotty, STTNG:Relics

Avishai

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1021
Re: Autocad and Lazarus/FPC?
« Reply #7 on: September 19, 2011, 08:05:27 pm »
I think it is easier than you might think.  From Acad 2000 to Acad 2007 I was able to run Acad with Delphi 6.  I could draw any object and some of the objects were complex objects.  I could switch tabs, set up MViews, almost anything I needed to do.  If Acad provided the hook to the command processor, that would be all you needed.
Lazarus Trunk / fpc 2.6.2 / Win32

Sora-Kun

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 162
  • I can smell your presence ...
    • Sora-Kun
Re: Autocad and Lazarus/FPC?
« Reply #8 on: September 19, 2011, 08:44:50 pm »
The solution is simple;
Make an AutoCad clone in Lazarus-FPC :D
That's my philosophy, if nothing suites you, make it your self!
if nothing suites you, make it your self!
The Revolution, Genesis. The next generation IDE.
If you want to help, PM me.

Made in Lazarus.
Soon, in The WWW.

Carver413

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
Re: Autocad and Lazarus/FPC?
« Reply #9 on: September 19, 2011, 10:22:47 pm »

Avishai

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1021
Re: Autocad and Lazarus/FPC?
« Reply #10 on: September 19, 2011, 10:44:15 pm »
More like this.
Lazarus Trunk / fpc 2.6.2 / Win32

Carver413

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
Re: Autocad and Lazarus/FPC?
« Reply #11 on: September 19, 2011, 11:15:44 pm »
Ok yours is cooler then mine,but then again I'm not really creating a cad. it's more like a modern opengl tool kit for gui design. the kind of tool kit you would want to have if you were tring to make a cad. 

TurboRascal

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 672
  • "Good sysadmin. Bad programmer."™
Re: Autocad and Lazarus/FPC?
« Reply #12 on: September 20, 2011, 10:27:04 am »
The solution is simple;
Make an AutoCad clone in Lazarus-FPC :D
That's my philosophy, if nothing suites you, make it your self!

Well, perhaps the solution might be to take LibreCAD+LibreDWG and add FP and all command hooks needet to it which should be easier than in ACAD since it's open source... That might be a great product...
Regards, ArNy the Turbo Rascal
-
"The secret is to give them what they need, not what they want." - Scotty, STTNG:Relics

BlueIcaro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 576
Re: Autocad and Lazarus/FPC?
« Reply #13 on: September 20, 2011, 11:32:42 am »
Hello, I think it will a huge project, like Lazarus. I would like work on it.

In other way, I think must be based on OpenGl to render the draws.

It's a very huge project for me. But Thinking on it I love it.

/BlueIcaro
Remenber, the lazarus wiki is your friend: http://wiki.lazarus.freepascal.org/Main_Page
General questions (several lenguages) http://wiki.lazarus.freepascal.org/

Avishai

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1021
Re: Autocad and Lazarus/FPC?
« Reply #14 on: September 20, 2011, 12:06:25 pm »
Quote
take LibreCAD+LibreDWG and add FP
That sounds like fun.  If I could use Lazarus/FPC to develope, I would like to get involved, but it is C++ I think.  But I think LibreCAD is 2D only.
Lazarus Trunk / fpc 2.6.2 / Win32